(20 ILCS 4005/4) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 1304)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2025)
    Sec. 4. There is hereby created an Illinois Motor Vehicle Theft Prevention and Insurance Verification Council, which shall exercise its powers, duties and responsibilities. There shall be 11 members of the Council consisting of the Secretary of State or his designee, the Director of the Department of State Police, the State's Attorney of Cook County, the Superintendent of the Chicago Police Department, and the following 7 additional members, each of whom shall be appointed by the Secretary of State: a state's attorney of a county other than Cook, a chief executive law enforcement official from a jurisdiction other than the City of Chicago, 5 representatives of insurers authorized to write motor vehicle insurance in this State, all of whom shall be domiciled in this State.
    The Director shall be the Chairman of the Council. All members of the Council appointed by the Secretary shall serve at the discretion of the Secretary for a term not to exceed 4 years. The Council shall meet at least quarterly.
(Source: P.A. 100-373, eff. 1-1-18.)