(20 ILCS 2905/3) (from Ch. 127 1/2, par. 3)
    Sec. 3. There is created the Illinois Fire Advisory Commission which shall advise the Office in the exercise of its powers and duties. The Commission shall be appointed by the Governor as follows:
    3 professional, fulltime paid firefighters;
    one volunteer firefighter;
    one Fire Protection Engineer who is registered in
    one person who is a representative of the Fire
    Insurance industry in Illinois; and
    3 persons with an interest in and knowledgeable
    about fire prevention methods.
    In addition, the following shall serve as ex officio members of the Commission: the Chicago Fire Commissioner, or his designee; the executive officer, or his designee of each of the following organizations: the Illinois Fire Chiefs Association, the Illinois Fire Protection District Association, the Illinois Fire Inspectors Association, the Illinois Professional Firefighters Association, the Illinois Firemen's Association, the Associated Firefighters of Illinois, the Illinois Society of Fire Service Instructors and the Fire Service Institute, University of Illinois.
    The Governor shall designate, at the time of appointment, 3 members to serve terms expiring on the third Monday in January, 1979; 3 members to serve terms expiring the third Monday in January, 1980; and 2 members to serve terms expiring the third Monday in January, 1981. The additional member appointed by the Governor pursuant to this amendatory Act of 1987 shall serve for a term expiring the third Monday in January, 1990. Thereafter, all terms shall be for 3 years. A member shall serve until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. A vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term.
    The Governor shall designate one of the appointed members to be chairman of the Commission.
    Members shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for their actual reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.
(Source: P.A. 85-718.)