(20 ILCS 1605/6) (from Ch. 120, par. 1156)
    Sec. 6. There is hereby created an independent board to be known as the Lottery Control Board, consisting of 5 members, all of whom shall be citizens of the United States and residents of this State and shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than 3 of the 5 members shall be members of the same political party. A chairman of the Board shall be chosen annually from the membership of the Board by a majority of the members of the Board at the first meeting of the Board each fiscal year.
    Initial members shall be appointed to the Board by the Governor as follows: one member to serve until July 1, 1974, and until his successor is appointed and qualified; 2 members to serve until July 1, 1975, and until their successors are appointed and qualified; 2 members to serve until July 1, 1976, and until their successors are appointed and qualified. As terms of members so appointed expire, their successors shall be appointed for terms to expire the first day in July 3 years thereafter, and until their successors are appointed and qualified.
    Any vacancy in the Board occurring for any reason other than expiration of term, shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment.
    Any member of the Board may be removed by the Governor for neglect of duty, misfeasance, malfeasance, or nonfeasance in office.
    Board members shall receive as compensation for their services $100 for each day they are in attendance at any official board meeting, but in no event shall members receive more than $1,200 per year. They shall receive no other compensation for their services, but shall be reimbursed for necessary traveling and other reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties. Each member shall make a full financial disclosure upon appointment.
    The Board shall hold at least one meeting each quarter of the fiscal year. In addition, special meetings may be called by the Chairman, any 2 Board members, or the Director of the Department, upon delivery of 72 hours' written notice to the office of each member. All Board meetings shall be open to the public pursuant to the Open Meetings Act.
    Three members of the Board shall constitute a quorum, and 3 votes shall be required for any final determination by the Board. The Board shall keep a complete and accurate record of all its meetings.
(Source: P.A. 97-464, eff. 10-15-11; 98-499, eff. 8-16-13.)