(15 ILCS 335/8)
(from Ch. 124, par. 28)
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this Section:
(1) Every identification card issued hereunder,
except to persons who have reached their 15th birthday, but are not yet 21 years of age, persons who are 65 years of age or older, and persons who are issued an Illinois Person with a Disability Identification Card, shall expire 5 years from the ensuing birthday of the applicant and a renewal shall expire 5 years thereafter.
(2) Every original or renewal identification card
issued to a person who has reached his or her 15th birthday, but is not yet 21 years of age shall expire 3 months after the person's 21st birthday.
(b) Except as provided elsewhere in this Section, every original, renewal, or duplicate: (i) non-REAL ID identification card issued
person who has reached his or her 65th birthday shall be permanent and need
not be renewed; (ii) REAL ID compliant identification card issued on or after July 1, 2017, to a person who has reached his or her 65th birthday shall expire 8 years thereafter; (iii) non-REAL ID Illinois Person with a Disability Identification Card issued to a qualifying person shall expire 10 years
thereafter; and (iv) REAL ID compliant Illinois Person with a Disability Identification Card issued on or after July 1, 2017, shall expire 8 years thereafter. The Secretary of State shall promulgate rules setting forth the
conditions and criteria for the renewal of all Illinois Person with a Disability Identification Cards.
(c) Every identification card or Illinois Person with a Disability Identification Card issued under this Act to an applicant who is not a United States citizen or permanent resident shall be marked "Limited Term" and shall expire on whichever is the earlier date of the following:
(1) as provided under subsection (a) or (b) of this
(2) on the date the applicant's authorized stay in
the United States terminates; or
(3) if the applicant's authorized stay is
indefinite and the applicant is applying for a Limited Term REAL ID compliant identification card, one year from the date of issuance of the card.
(Source: P.A. 99-305, eff. 1-1-16; 99-511, eff. 1-1-17; 100-248, eff. 8-22-17; 100-827, eff. 8-13-18.)