(15 ILCS 310/8) (from Ch. 124, par. 108)
    Sec. 8. Merit Commission. There shall be a Merit Commission for the Office of the Secretary of State, composed of 5 members appointed by the Secretary of State with the advice and consent of the Senate. The members of the Commission shall be persons in sympathy with the application of merit principles to public employment in the Office of the Secretary of State. Not more than 3 members may be affiliated with the same political party.
(Source: P.A. 89-375, eff. 8-18-95.)