Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB2856  97th General Assembly


Rep. Raymond Poe

Filed: 3/17/2011





09700HB2856ham001LRB097 08477 KTG 53258 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 2856 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The Early Intervention Services System Act is
5amended by changing Section 10 as follows:
6    (325 ILCS 20/10)  (from Ch. 23, par. 4160)
7    Sec. 10. Standards. The Council and the lead agency, with
8assistance from parents and providers, shall develop and
9promulgate policies and procedures relating to the
10establishment and implementation of program and personnel
11standards to ensure that services provided are consistent with
12any State-approved or recognized certification, licensing,
13registration, or other comparable requirements which apply to
14the area of early intervention program service standards. Only
15State-approved public or private early intervention service
16providers shall be eligible to receive State and federal



09700HB2856ham001- 2 -LRB097 08477 KTG 53258 a

1funding for early intervention services. All early childhood
2intervention staff shall hold the highest entry requirement
3necessary for that position. State-approved public or private
4early intervention providers shall not exceed 30 billable hours
5per 7-day week.
6    To be a State-approved early intervention service
7provider, an individual (i) shall not have served or completed,
8within the preceding 5 years, a sentence for conviction of any
9felony that the Department establishes by rule and (ii) shall
10not have been indicated as a perpetrator of child abuse or
11neglect, within the preceding 5 years, in an investigation by
12Illinois (pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting
13Act) or another state. The Department is authorized to receive
14criminal background checks for such providers and persons
15applying to be such a provider and to receive child abuse and
16neglect reports regarding indicated perpetrators who are
17applying to provide or currently authorized to provide early
18intervention services in Illinois. Beginning January 1, 2004,
19every provider of State-approved early intervention services
20and every applicant to provide such services must authorize, in
21writing and in the form required by the Department, a criminal
22background check and check of child abuse and neglect reports
23regarding the provider or applicant as a condition of
24authorization to provide early intervention services. The
25Department shall use the results of the checks only to
26determine State approval of the early intervention service



09700HB2856ham001- 3 -LRB097 08477 KTG 53258 a

1provider and shall not re-release the information except as
2necessary to accomplish that purpose.
3(Source: P.A. 93-147, eff. 1-1-04.)
4    Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
5becoming law.".