Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SB0189  100th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Scott M. Bennett - Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant - Bill Cunningham - Melinda Bush - Patricia Van Pelt, David Koehler, Laura M. Murphy, Julie A. Morrison, Heather A. Steans, Omar Aquino, Thomas Cullerton, Pat McGuire, Daniel Biss, Andy Manar, Jacqueline Y. Collins, Steve Stadelman, Neil Anderson, John G. Mulroe, Chris Nybo, Wm. Sam McCann, Pamela J. Althoff, Mattie Hunter, Michael Connelly, Jil Tracy, Ira I. Silverstein, Iris Y. Martinez, Cristina Castro, Toi W. Hutchinson, Terry Link and Kimberly A. Lightford

House Sponsors
(Rep. Michelle Mussman - Linda Chapa LaVia - Jehan Gordon-Booth - Jerry Costello, II - Steven A. Andersson, Lawrence Walsh, Jr., Mary E. Flowers, Jay Hoffman, Katie Stuart, Martin J. Moylan, Margo McDermed, Frances Ann Hurley and Laura Fine)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  3/30/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
720 ILCS 5/3-6from Ch. 38, par. 3-6

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Criminal Code of 2012. Provides that when the victim is under 18 years of age at the time of the offense, a prosecution for criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, or criminal sexual abuse may be commenced at any time regardless as to whether corroborating physical evidence is available or an individual who is required to report an alleged or suspected commission of any of these offenses under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act fails to do so. Makes conforming changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/18/2017SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Scott M. Bennett
  1/18/2017SenateFirst Reading
  1/18/2017SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/6/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant
  2/8/2017SenateAssigned to Criminal Law
  2/9/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  2/27/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Julie A. Morrison
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Heather A. Steans
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pat McGuire
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Daniel Biss
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Andy Manar
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Patricia Van Pelt
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve Stadelman
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Neil Anderson
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John G. Mulroe
  2/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chris Nybo
  3/1/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Wm. Sam McCann
  3/1/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  3/1/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  3/1/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael Connelly
  3/7/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jil Tracy
  3/7/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ira I. Silverstein
  3/8/2017SenateDo Pass Criminal Law; 010-000-000
  3/8/2017SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 9, 2017
  3/14/2017SenateSecond Reading
  3/14/2017SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading March 15, 2017
  3/15/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Iris Y. Martinez
  3/15/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  3/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Toi W. Hutchinson
  3/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Terry Link
  3/29/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  3/29/2017SenateThird Reading - Passed; 054-000-000
  3/29/2017HouseArrived in House
  3/29/2017HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/30/2017HouseFirst Reading
  3/30/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/30/2017HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/30/2017HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  3/30/2017HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry Costello, II
  3/30/2017HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven A. Andersson
  3/30/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  3/30/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  3/30/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  4/4/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  4/5/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  4/5/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  4/12/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  4/19/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Fine

Back To Top