

99TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY State of Illinois 2015 and 2016 HB3737

by Rep. David Reis

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

25 ILCS 130/1-5 25 ILCS 150/7 new from Ch. 63, par. 1001-5

Amends the Legislative Audit Commission Act. Provides that an audit may be closed only upon the majority vote of the Commission or by an agreement between the 2 co-chairpersons. Provides that the next meeting of the Commission shall be set only by majority vote of the Commission or by an agreement between the 2 co-chairpersons. Amends the Legislative Commission Reorganization Act of 1984. Makes a technical change concerning the Commission to be consistent with the Legislative Audit Commission Act.

LRB099 08040 JLK 28184 b

19

20

21

22

2.3

1 AN ACT concerning State government.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

- Section 5. The Legislative Commission Reorganization Act of 1984 is amended by changing Section 1-5 as follows:
- 6 (25 ILCS 130/1-5) (from Ch. 63, par. 1001-5)
- 7 Sec. 1-5. Composition of agencies; directors.
- The Boards of the Joint Committee on Administrative 8 9 Commission on Government Forecasting the Accountability, the Legislative Audit Commission Committee, 10 and the Legislative Research Unit shall each consist of 12 11 members of the General Assembly, of whom 3 shall be appointed 12 by the President of the Senate, 3 shall be appointed by the 13 14 Minority Leader of the Senate, 3 shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and 3 shall be 15 Minority Leader of 16 appointed by the the House 17 Representatives. All appointments shall be in writing and filed with the Secretary of State as a public record. 18

Members shall serve a 2-year term, and must be appointed by the Joint Committee during the month of January in each odd-numbered year for terms beginning February 1. Any vacancy in an Agency shall be filled by appointment for the balance of the term in the same manner as the original appointment. A vacancy shall exist when a member no longer holds the elected legislative office held at the time of the appointment or at the termination of the member's legislative service.

During the month of February of each odd-numbered year, the Joint Committee on Legislative Support Services shall select from the members of the Board of each Agency 2 co-chairpersons and such other officers as the Joint Committee deems necessary. The co-chairpersons of each Board shall serve for a 2-year term, beginning February 1 of the odd-numbered year, and the 2 co-chairpersons shall not be members of or identified with the same house or the same political party.

Each Board shall meet twice annually or more often upon the call of the chair or any 9 members. A quorum of the Board shall consist of a majority of the appointed members.

(b) The Board of each of the following legislative support agencies shall consist of the Secretary and Assistant Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk and Assistant Clerk of the House of Representatives: the Legislative Information System, the Legislative Printing Unit, the Legislative Reference Bureau, and the Office of the Architect of the Capitol. The co-chairpersons of the Board of the Office of the Architect of the Capitol shall be the Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the House of Representatives, each ex officio.

The Chairperson of each of the other Boards shall be the member who is affiliated with the same caucus as the then serving Chairperson of the Joint Committee on Legislative

3

8

9

17

20

21

22

23

25

26

Support Services. Each Board shall meet twice annually or more 1

2 often upon the call of the chair or any 3 members. A quorum of

the Board shall consist of a majority of the appointed members.

When the Board of the Office of the Architect of the 4

5 Capitol has cast. а tied vote concerning the

implementation, or construction of a project within the 6

legislative complex, as defined in Section 8A-15, the Architect 7

of the Capitol may cast the tie-breaking vote.

- (c) (Blank).
- 10 (d) Members of each Agency shall serve compensation, but shall be reimbursed for expenses incurred in 11 12 carrying out the duties of the Agency pursuant to rules and 13 regulations adopted by the Joint Committee on Legislative
- 14 Support Services.
- Beginning February 1, 1985, and every 2 15

16 thereafter, the Joint Committee shall select an Executive

Director who shall be the chief executive officer and staff

director of each Agency. The Executive Director shall receive a 18

19 salary as fixed by the Joint Committee and shall be authorized

to employ and fix the compensation of necessary professional,

technical and secretarial staff and prescribe their duties,

sign contracts, and issue vouchers for the payment of

obligations pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the

Joint Committee on Legislative Support Services. The Executive 24

Director and other employees of the Agency shall not be subject

to the Personnel Code.

- 1 The executive director of the Office of the Architect of
- 2 the Capitol shall be known as the Architect of the Capitol.
- 3 (Source: P.A. 98-692, eff. 7-1-14.)
- 4 Section 10. The Legislative Audit Commission Act is amended
- 5 by adding Section 7 as follows:
- 6 (25 ILCS 150/7 new)
- 7 Sec. 7. Audits and meetings.
- 8 (a) An audit may be closed by the Commission by either:
- 9 (1) a majority vote of the Commission; or
- 10 (2) an agreement between the 2 co-chairpersons
- 11 <u>described in Section 1-5 of the Legislative Commission</u>
- Reorganization Act of 1984.
- 13 (b) A future Commission meeting may only be set by either:
- 14 (1) a majority vote of the Commission; or
- 15 (2) an agreement between the 2 co-chairpersons
- described in Section 1-5 of the Legislative Commission
- 17 Reorganization Act of 1984.