

HR0286

LRB098 11809 GRL 44943 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 Illinois WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the 3rd grade students and 4 teachers of Mt. Pulaski Grade School for participating in the 5 Courthouse Cash program to raise money for repairs to the 6 historic Mt. Pulaski Courthouse; and

7 WHEREAS, After reading a story in a reading book about a 8 young girl who asked everyone in her community to give a dollar 9 to save her local zoo, several 3rd grade students at Mt. 10 Pulaski Grade School asked their teachers to do a similar 11 project; after several weeks, the teachers learned that the historic Mt. Pulaski Courthouse was in need of repairs; the 12 13 class subsequently asked the Mt. Pulaski community to donate \$1 14 each to raise money to make the needed repairs to the 15 Courthouse; and

16 WHEREAS, After composing a letter and sending it to local 17 newspapers, word spread quickly about the Courthouse Cash 18 program; the students created posters and canisters, which were 19 given to local business owners; and

20 WHEREAS, During the program's first week, even before the 21 letter was published in the newspaper, the students collected 22 \$79; before long, the program collected over \$1,000, with HR0286 -2- LRB098 11809 GRL 44943 r
1 letters coming in from Alaska, Oregon, California, Florida,
2 Pennsylvania, Colorado, Missouri, Indiana, Michigan, and
3 throughout the State; the program ultimately collected
4 \$11,505.89, which was presented to the Mt. Pulaski Courthouse
5 Foundation Board; and

WHEREAS, The students involved with the Courthouse Cash 6 7 program are Devin Brady, Elana Bruns, Alanea Cyrulik, Yunus 8 Elsafadi, Drew Emrick, Cassidy Hayes, Madison Inman, Brayden 9 Killion, Grace Nixon, James Ornick, Daniel Phillips, Aidan 10 Schneider, Clarissa Turner, Cullen Tyson, Emma Vieth, Jordan 11 Benner, Evan Cyrulik, Jaden Davis, Jasmine Durchholz, Luke 12 Farris, Delaney Howard, Miranda Ingram, Isaac Mason, Braden 13 Meagher, Karson Mott, Delia Phillips, Bodi Richardson, Joseph 14 Roemer, Grant Skelton, Kasey Tungate, and Xzandria Turner; the 15 teachers are Megan Jones and Mary Ann Radtke; and

16 WHEREAS, The students of Mt. Pulaski Grade School and their 17 teachers serve as models of hard work, integrity, and 18 dedication for the people of the State of Illinois; therefore, 19 be it

20 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 21 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 22 we congratulate the 3rd grade students and teachers of Mt. 23 Pulaski Grade School for participating in the Courthouse Cash HR0286 -3- LRB098 11809 GRL 44943 r 1 program and wish them continued success and happiness in the 2 future; and be it further

3 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 4 presented to the 3rd grade students and teachers of Mt. Pulaski 5 Grade School as a symbol of our esteem and respect.