

HR0943

LRB097 21138 GRL 68582 r

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives recognize young children as one of the State's 4 most precious and valuable resources; and

5 WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of 6 Young Children is the nation's largest early childhood 7 organization; the association seeks to serve and act on behalf 8 of the rights, needs, and well-being of all young children, 9 with a primary focus on the provision of educational and 10 developmental needs and services; and

11 WHEREAS, The Illinois Association for the Education of 12 Young Children (ILAEYC) is the State affiliate of the National 13 Association for the Education of Young Children; ILAEYC has 14 over 3,500 members and 17 local affiliate chapters around the 15 State dedicated to the same mission; and

16 WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of 17 Young Children has designated the week of April 23-27 as the 18 Week of the Young Child; the month of April is designated as 19 Month of the Young Child in the State of Illinois; and

20 WHEREAS, The purpose of the Month of the Young Child is to 21 focus public attention on the needs of young children and their HR0943 -2- LRB097 21138 GRL 68582 r 1 families and to recognize the individuals, early childhood 2 programs, and services that are dedicated to meeting those 3 needs; and

WHEREAS, There are members of the organization, such as teachers, program directors, school administrators, agency personnel, college faculty, and others, who continually go above and beyond what is expected to see that these needs are met; and

9 WHEREAS, These individuals are considered to be true 10 Children's Champions, who go further than anyone else to make a 11 positive difference to the lives of children everywhere; and

12 WHEREAS, The actions of Lori Longueville of Carbondale 13 (Illinois AEYC), Cathy Armstrong from Lincoln (Capitol Area 14 AEYC), Jennifer Brosnahan of Joliet (Joliet AEYC); Angie Cox of Ridgeway (Southern Illinois AEYC), Leon Denton of Chicago 15 16 (Chicago Metro AEYC), Pam Giermann of Winfield (DuPage AEYC), 17 Tammy Halter of Normal (McLean County AEYC), Annette Herbert of Lockport (South Suburban AEYC), Peggy Patten of Urbana (East 18 19 Central AEYC), Brenda Smith of Peoria (Heart of Illinois AEYC), 20 Laurie Walker of Moline (Quad Cities AEYC), and Catherine (Cass) Wolfe of Evanston (Golden Corridor AEYC) represent 21 22 shining examples of those in our communities doing good things 23 for children; these individuals have been nominated by their HR0943 -3- LRB097 21138 GRL 68582 r
local affiliate chapters and designated by the Illinois
Association for the Education of Young Children as Illinois
2012 Children's Champions; therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 5 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 6 we recognize the Illinois 2012 Children's Champions and their 7 dedication, hard work, and significant contributions to the 8 State of Illinois; and be it further

9 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 10 presented to each of the Illinois 2012 Children's Champions in 11 recognition of their efforts.