

HR1322

LRB096 22508 KXB 41805 r

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the director and 4 members of the Troy Symphonic Band on being chosen the 2010 5 Honor Band at the 2010 Illinois Superstate Concert Band 6 Festival, held in Champaign on May 7, 2010; and

7 WHEREAS, The Troy Symphonic Band is made up of fifty-six 8 7th and 8th grade students; the band first participated in the 9 Illinois Grade School Music Association contests, at both the 10 district and State levels and earned Division I ratings and 11 were given perfect scores by each judge at both events; and

12 WHEREAS, On April 17, 2010, the band traveled to Illinois 13 State University to compete in the 2010 State of Illinois 14 Junior High School Concert Band Contest; the band scored the 15 highest in their class, and for the fourth straight year the 16 band was named overall grand champions at the contest; and

WHEREAS, The Troy Concert Band (the 2nd level band also made up of 7th and 8th grade students), were also awarded Division I ratings at both the district and State levels, and took 1st place in the band class at the Illinois State University contest; the band is directed by Mrs. Jennifer Rosario and Mr. William Goetz; and -2- LRB096 22508 KXB 41805 r

1 WHEREAS, The 2010 Illinois Superstate Concert Band 2 Festival was made up of twenty-three different junior high and 3 middle school bands, each submitting an audition recording, 4 with only eight chosen to compete; by the end of the 5 competition the Troy Symphonic Band had been named 2010 Honor 6 Band for the second time, having been named Honor Band in 2007 7 as well; and

8 WHEREAS, The Troy Symphonic Band is led by Mr. Ted Lega; 9 the members of the Troy Symphonic Band are: Bryant Alderson, 10 Alyssa Alexander, Rebecca Alexander, Julia Barich, Kaleigh 11 Belfield, Skyler Brennan, Nicole Brozyna, Rachel Buechel, Arianna Cerullo, Elizabeth Check, Rok Churnovic, Benjamin 12 Clausen, Colin Deeter, Sydney Eberl, Jacoby Ford, Armani 13 14 Foster, Priscilla Garcia, Sarah Gaydos, Armando Gonzalez, 15 Lyric Griffin, Genesis Guerra, Desiray Keigan, Ellen Kientop, Zachary Kountz, Isaac Long, Amanda Marshall, Shayne McConnell, 16 Greta McGuire, Griffin McGuire, Lauren McKay, Jeremy Millerin, 17 Daniel Mulligan, Sarah Nelson, Christopher Nero, Rachael 18 Nevsimal, Tyler Pacheco, John Pantaleo, Alexander Paolone, 19 20 Kathleen Patrick, Jonathan Pickett, Tara Price, Amber Rak, Kate 21 Regganie, Ashley Reynolds, Katie Robertson, Aaron Rodriguez, Edward Rogalski, Brae Salazar, Dominic Scarcelli, Laura 22 23 Schultz, Allison Shanholtzer, Anthony Sims, Brenton Thompson, Alex Volante, Youjia Wang, and Ashley Wrzek; therefore, be it 24

HR1322

HR1322 -3- LRB096 22508 KXB 41805 r

1 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 2 NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 3 congratulate Mr. Ted Lega and the members of the Troy Symphonic 4 Band on their success and wish them the best in the future; and 5 be it further

6 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 7 presented to the Troy Symphonic Band and its director, Mr. Ted 8 Lega, as a symbol of our respect and esteem.