

HR0513 LRB096 13242 GRL 27902 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the congregation 4 of the Main Baptist Church in Aurora on the occasion of the 5 church's 142nd anniversary in June of 2009; and

WHEREAS, The Main Baptist Church had its beginnings in the Park Place Baptist Church, which was instrumental in the transportation of slaves to Aurora by way of the Underground Railroad during the Civil War; after the emancipation of the slaves, many African-Americans migrated to the North, with some choosing to settle in Aurora; many of these ex-slaves chose to worship at the Park Place Baptist Church, which manifested its concern by welcoming them as part of its congregation; as the new members grew in numbers and met in their homes for prayer meetings, they felt the need for their own place of worship; through the help of Reverend Buttons, the Pastor of Park Place, and Reverend Barnett, the leader of the African-American membership, the Colored Baptist Church of Aurora came into being in June of 1867; and

WHEREAS, Around the 1890's, a frame church was erected on the Main Baptist Church's current site, utilizing property given as a gift to the church from a prominent Aurora citizen; at the time, services were held in the basement and the name of 2

3

4

5

6

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

1 the church became the Third Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, During the Main Baptist Church's first 48 years, many pastors were called to serve the congregation; the church also started numerous organizations, including a choir, a quartet, Sunday School, Missionary Society, and Baptist Young People's Union; in addition, an envelope system of paying 7 church dues and the tithing method of supporting the church were introduced; and

WHEREAS, On November 24, 1924, the Third Baptist Church was torn down and worship services were held in the Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Hall, the Aurora City Hall, and the Labor Temple, among other places; on August 23, 1925, the Reverend G. W. Alexander preached the sermon for the "Laying of the Cornerstone" and the church was renamed the Main Street Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, In November of 1949, Reverend Joseph L. Griffin of Chicago accepted the call to serve as Pastor of the Main Street Baptist Church; the church added many new organizations at that time, including the Junior Missionary Society, the Volunteer Service Guild, and the Willing Workers Club; in addition, observance programs of the Pastor's Anniversary, Women's Day, and Men's Day were started, along with the purchase of the parsonage at 21 N. East Avenue in Aurora and the establishment

- of a Scholarship Fund; the church's membership increased
- 2 greatly through gospel preaching, revivals, and faithful
- 3 witnessing; and

WHEREAS, In April of 1955, after a short period without a pastor, the Reverend Robert Wesby became the Pastor of the Main Street Baptist Church, with the Reverend Churchill Cowherd serving as Assistant to the Pastor; during his pastorate, the Children's Church, the Pathfinders, Silent Helpers, and the Credit Union were organized; during this time, the church also started the Sunday evening broadcast over WMRO and purchased property at 818 E. Galena Blvd. in Aurora; in November of 1963, Rev. Wesby resigned as pastor and Rev. Churchill Cowherd served as the church's Interim Pastor; and

WHEREAS, On May 14, 1964, the congregation of the Main Street Baptist Church enthusiastically welcomed Reverend Robert Edward Morgan as their Spiritual Commander; during his tenure, he added many new Deacons and Trustees, including the church's first women trustees, Sisters Estella Smith, Martha Dade, Tommie Wells, Eunice Tresenwriter, and Donna Williams; he was also instrumental in the organization of the Pastor's Aid, the Men's Club, the Church Council, the Christian Education Board, the Deaconess, the Mothers' Board, the Nurses' Aid Guild, and a Youth Fellowship; due to the changing of the names of many of the streets in Aurora, it became necessary for a

1

19

20

21

22

23

- church name change; by popular vote, the church became the Main
- 2 Baptist Church in 1964; and
- 3 WHEREAS, During the third year of Rev. Morgan's pastorate, 4 the Main Baptist Church launched its comprehensive building and 5 expansion program to meet its educational and sanctuary needs; in the fall of 1972, Rev. Morgan resigned his pastorate and 6 7 Rev. Churchill Cowherd once again served as Interim Pastor; on 8 August 12, 1973, the Reverend Dezo McGill became pastor of the 9 church; Rev. McGill's first endeavor was to advance the Sunday 10 School hour and add Baptist Training Union workshops before the 11 Sunday morning worship hour; a nursery during morning worship 12 was instituted as well, with Sister Dorothy Walton directing; in September of 1974, a church library was established and 1.3 14 dedicated honoring the labor of Rev. Robert E. Morgan and the 15 Hostess committee was organized to greet members and visitors 16 each Sunday; in December of 1980, an additional Worship Service at 7:30 A.M. was instituted in to eliminate overcrowding at the 17 18 church's 11:00 A.M. Worship Service; and
 - WHEREAS, On June 8, 1980, the Main Baptist Church's mortgage was burned in the presence of Reverend Dezo McGill, Reverend Robert E. Morgan, Reverend Wallace S. Hartsfield, Aurora city officials, and the congregation-at-large; and
 - WHEREAS, Under the inspired leadership of Reverend Dezo

education annex; and

McGill, the Main Baptist Church added many ministries and organizations to its church program, including the Golden Agers Ministry, Family Night, the Tape Ministry, Mission II, the Women's Bible Study and Prayer Group, The Adventures of the 3R's Summer Learning Program, the Evangelistic Committee, the Men's Ministry, the Singles Ministry, the Marriage Ministry, Toastmasters, the New Members Class, and a part-time Children's Church Pastor and assistants; in the fall of 1993, property was purchased and renovated at 808 E. Galena Blvd. for the church's

WHEREAS, In October of 2006, Reverend McGill announced his retirement after 32 years; the church's Deacons' Ministry, chaired by Deacon Hase Phillips, established a Pulpit Committee, which faced an awesome task of searching, screening, and presenting candidates seeking to serve as Pastor; on June 2, 2007, Dr. Julian E. Spencer of Tracy, California accepted the call to lead the Main Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, Today, the congregation of the Main Baptist Church continues its mission of being an effective, spiritual pillar in its community, striving for the advancement of the Kingdom of God by proclaiming the Word of God, leading lost souls to Christ, and ministering to the needs of the saved and unsaved in the church congregation, local community, across the nation, and throughout the world; therefore, be it

- RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
 NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
 congratulate the congregation of the Main Baptist Church in
 Aurora on the occasion of the church's 142nd anniversary and
 wish them continued success and happiness in the future; and be
 it further
- RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to Dr. Julian E. Spencer, Pastor of the Main Baptist Church, as a symbol of our esteem and respect.