

HR0302

LRB096 12493 GRL 25533 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Oswego High School Panthers boys varsity 3 basketball team finished second in the 2008-2009 Illinois High 4 School Association 3A State Basketball Tournament and claimed 5 the school's first State trophy in basketball; and

6 WHEREAS, The Oswego High School basketball team attained a 7 11-3 record in the Southwest Prairie Conference; the team ended 8 the 2008-2009 season with a 26-7 record; and

9 WHEREAS, Kevin Schnable coached the Oswego High School 10 basketball team to the State championship game, where they lost 11 61-59 to Centennial (Champaign) High School; the team went 6-1 12 in the tournament playoffs; and

13 WHEREAS, Oswego reached the championship game after Oswego 14 senior guard Jordan Mitchell's clutch 3-pointer at the buzzer 15 led his team to a 56-55 win over Leo (Chicago, Illinois) in the 16 State Tournament's semi-final game; and

WHEREAS, During the final game of the State championship, team members Mitchell and Ziemnik made many 3-pointers; team member Galow made many assists; Kwiatkowski secured clutch rebounds in an epic game between Oswego and Champaign Centennial; and WHEREAS, The Panthers' season ended with a 26-7 record and
 the best finish in Oswego High School's basketball history; and

3 WHEREAS, Oswego High School led the Southwest Prairie 4 Conference with 2,097 points during the 2008-2009 season and 5 established itself as a powerhouse in the conference; and

6 WHEREAS, The student-athletes who led the Panthers to their 7 second place finish in the IHSA Class 3A Boys State Basketball 8 Tournament are Ryan West, Danny Bruzdzinski, Brett 9 Baumgartner, Bukky Adeofe, Andrew Galow, James Taylor, Tyler 10 Pence, Jordan Mitchell, Chris Bagley, Parker Meek, Joe Kwiatkowski, Andrew Ziemnik, Collin Seibert, Paul Cahill, 11 12 DeAndre Mitchell, and Team Manager Alex "Gator" Gates; and

WHEREAS, The IHSA Class 3A Boys Basketball State Runners-up were led by Head Coach Kevin Schnable and Assistant Coaches Matt Borrowman, Jim Bagley, Mike Hettinger, Mike Schnable, Tim Taviani, Jeff Henrikson, Mike Anderson, and Joe Sweeney; the team was additionally assisted by videographer George Bailey, bus driver Dave Sutcliff, and athletic trainers Brian Cronin and Michelle Knizner; and

20 WHEREAS, Superintendent Dr. David Behlow, Principal Mike 21 Wayne, Assistant Principals Dr. Nancy Chibe and Craig Watson, HR0302 -3- LRB096 12493 GRL 25533 r
Athletic Director Steve McInerney, Assistant Athletic Director
Greg Scott, Mark Johnson, and Athletic Administrative
Assistant Sarah Miller made the 2008-2009 season for the
Panthers possible; therefore, be it

5 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES RESOLVED, ΒY THE OF THE 6 NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 7 congratulate and applaud the 2008-2009 Oswego High School 8 Panthers boys basketball team for their accomplishments during 9 the 2008-2009 season, for their talent and teamwork displayed 10 on the court, and for the outstanding coaching staff that led 11 the team to the State Championship game and brought the team to 12 a fantastic conclusion as the State runner-up in the boys Class 3A tournament; and be it further 13

14 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 15 presented to Oswego High School Athletic Director Steve 16 McInerney, Head Coach Kevin Schnable, Oswego Principal Mike 17 Wayne, and the entire Oswego High School boys basketball team 18 and coaching staff.