

96TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY State of Illinois 2009 and 2010

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT HC0012

Introduced 2/5/2009, by Rep. Sidney H. Mathias

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

ILCON Art. V, Sec. 1 ILCON Art. V, Sec. 3 ILCON Art. V, Sec. 7 ILCON Art. V, Sec. 17 ILCON Art. V, Sec. 18

Proposes to amend the Executive Article of the Illinois Constitution. Eliminates the Office of the Comptroller. Provides that the Treasurer shall (i) maintain the State's central fiscal accounts and order payments into and out of the funds held by him or her, (ii) be responsible for the safekeeping and investment of monies and securities deposited with him or her, and for their disbursement upon his or her order, and (iii) have the duties and powers that may be prescribed by law. Effective upon being declared adopted, and applies upon conclusion of the terms of the Comptroller and Treasurer elected in 2006, regardless of the election of a Comptroller in 2010.

LRB096 04147 JAM 14189 e

21 (ILCON Art. V, Sec. 3)

SECTION 3. ELIGIBILITY

22

1	HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION
2	CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT
3	RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
4	NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE
5	SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that there shall be submitted to the
6	electors of the State for adoption or rejection at the general
7	election next occurring at least 6 months after the adoption of
8	this resolution a proposition to amend Article V of the
9	Illinois Constitution by changing Sections 1, 3, 7, and 18 and
10	by repealing Section 17 as follows:
11	ARTICLE V
12	THE EXECUTIVE
13	(ILCON Art. V, Sec. 1)
14	SECTION 1. OFFICERS
15	The Executive Branch shall include a Governor, Lieutenant
16	Governor, Attorney General, Secretary of State, Comptroller
17	and Treasurer elected by the electors of the State. They shall
18	keep the public records and maintain a residence at the seat of
19	government during their terms of office.
20	(Source: Illinois Constitution.)
	(bodiec. iiiiiiois conscitution.)

- To be eligible to hold the office of Governor, Lieutenant 1
- 2 Governor, Attorney General, Secretary of State, Comptroller or
- 3 Treasurer, a person must be a United States citizen, at least
- 25 years old, and a resident of this State for the three years
- 5 preceding his or her election.
- (Source: Illinois Constitution.) 6
- 7 (ILCON Art. V, Sec. 7)
- 8 SECTION 7. VACANCIES IN OTHER ELECTIVE OFFICES
- 9 If the Attorney General, Secretary of State, Comptroller or
- 10 Treasurer fails to qualify or if the his office becomes vacant,
- 11 the Governor shall fill the office by appointment.
- 12 appointee shall hold office until the elected officer qualifies
- or until a successor is elected and qualified as may be 1.3
- 14 provided by law and shall not be subject to removal by the
- 15 Governor. If the Lieutenant Governor fails to qualify or if the
- 16 his office becomes vacant, it shall remain vacant until the end
- of the term. 17
- 18 (Source: Illinois Constitution.)
- 19 (ILCON Art. V, Sec. 17)
- 20 SECTION 17. COMPTROLLER - DUTIES (REPEALED)
- 21 The Comptroller, in accordance with law, shall
- 22 State's central fiscal accounts, and order payments into and
- 23 out of the funds held by the Treasurer.
- 24 (Source: Illinois Constitution.)

- 1 (ILCON Art. V, Sec. 18)
- 2 SECTION 18. TREASURER - DUTIES
- 3 The Treasurer, in accordance with law, shall (i) maintain 4 the State's central fiscal accounts, and order payments into 5 and out of the funds held by him or her, (ii) be responsible for the safekeeping and investment of monies and securities 6 deposited with him or her, and for their disbursement upon his 7
- 8 or her order, and (iii) have the duties and powers that may be
- 9 prescribed by law of the Comptroller.
- 10 (Source: Illinois Constitution.)

11 SCHEDULE

12 This Constitutional Amendment takes effect upon being declared adopted in accordance with Section 7 of the Illinois 13 14 Constitutional Amendment Act. This Constitutional Amendment 15 applies upon the conclusion of the terms of the Comptroller and 16 the Treasurer elected in 2006, regardless of the election of a Comptroller in 2010. 17