
August 14, 2009 
 
 
 
To the Honorable Members of the  
Illinois House of Representatives, 
96th General Assembly 
 

Today I veto House Bill 669.  This legislation would lower the registration fee for license 
plates for vehicles owned by municipal fire departments or fire protection district fire chiefs from 
$78 to $8.  Fire Chiefs still pay $78 registration fee for vehicles they own personally. 

   
Currently, mayors in Illinois pay $78 for "mayor" license plates, regardless of whether or 

not the car is owned by the municipality or personally by the mayor.  Under this bill, fire chiefs 
would pay $8 for cars that they use, provided that the car is owned by the fire department, but 
$78 if they personally own the car.   

 
On July 13th, 2009, I signed into law bills that created the Illinois Jobs Now plan, a $31 

Billion dollar capital plan to rebuild our State’s aging infrastructure and help jump start our 
economy. The plan is predicated, in part, on annual license and registration fees assessed by the 
Secretary of State.     

 
While I am sympathetic to those who serve the public good in our local fire departments, 

I also recognize that only steady funding mechanisms will ensure success in the Illinois Jobs Now 
plan.   
 

For the reason above and in accordance with Article IV, Section 9(b) of the Illinois 
Constitution, I return House Bill 669 to the House, where it originated, vetoed in its entirety. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
PAT QUINN 
Governor 


