

HR1450 LRB095 21988 KXB 52255 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

20

WHEREAS, The Golden Apple Teaching Award was created in 2 3 1985 to honor outstanding Chicago-area teachers; the program 4 has grown into an institution that continues to recognize 5 gifted teachers, as well as prepare and strengthen teachers who 6 make a critical difference in the lives of all children, 7 particularly those from disadvantaged schools; and 8 WHEREAS, Northeastern Illinois University alumni received 9 five Golden Apple Awards out of ten that were given out in the 10 Chicagoland area in 2008; and WHEREAS, The winners included Carol Broos, Samina Khan, 11 12 Natalie Neris-Guereca, Brooke Tippet Thompson, and Donnell 13 White; and 14 WHEREAS, Northeastern has a strong tradition of educating 15 and training people to become teachers; and 16 WHEREAS, Northeastern Illinois University staff and 17 faculty can be proud to know that they have produced fine 18 teachers across the State of Illinois; therefore, be it 19 RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES ΟF THE

NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we

- 1 congratulate the men and women who received 2008 Golden Apple
- 2 Awards and we congratulate Northeastern Illinois University on
- 3 having so many of their teachers earn such high accolades; and
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 6 presented to a representative of Northeastern Illinois
- 7 University.