

HR0150 LRB094 11108 HSS 42021 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives are 3 pleased to honor the Amateur Hockey Association Illinois, Inc., 4 Hornets Youth Sled Hockey Team, based in Bensenville; and

WHEREAS, Sled hockey is an ice sport that allows individuals with disabilities to enjoy hockey; it is very similar to "stand-up hockey" in terms of concept and rules; the main difference is that instead of standing up to skate, participants sit on their skates using an adaptive device known as a sled, which is affixed with two skate blades and a runner in the front to form a tripod; the other main difference is that in sled hockey participants use two shortened hockey sticks with a blade on one end and a pick (similar to the end of a figure skate) on the other end, which enables them to propel themselves across the ice much like in cross country skiing; and

WHEREAS, The Hornets' mission is to provide any youngsters 17 years old or younger with a physical disability the opportunity, at no cost, to learn, enjoy and have fun playing the game of hockey; the program is funded in part through a grant to AHAI from Chicago Blackhawk Charities, a fund of the McCormick Tribune Foundation; and

WHEREAS, The Hornets program was started in 2004 by a group of experienced and dedicated individuals within the Illinois hockey community to provide an opportunity for everyBODY to participate in this great sport; the ultimate goal is to get as many players who are interested on the ice this year; and

WHEREAS, The Hornets practice every Wednesday night at the Edge Ice Arena in Bensenville; the team attended the first annual Disabled Hockey Festival in Detroit, Michigan, from February 18-20, 2005; all four disabled disciplines were

- 1 represented: sled hockey, special hockey, amputee hockey, and
- 2 hearing impaired hockey; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The members of the Hornets are Michael McCarthy,
- 4 Brad Pawelkiewicz, Nick Trcjanowicz, Brianna Fuentes, Pearl
- 5 Gannon, Peter Bleka, Dan Suero, Kyle Picchetti, Sean Grady,
- 6 Kelsey Haase, Brendan Meyers, Nathanael Rymsza, Erica
- 7 Mitchell, Ronen Young, Sandra Nehmzow, Matt Trilo, Steven Fako,
- 8 and John Wrubel; therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 10 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 11 we honor the members of the Bensenville Hornets Youth Sled
- 12 Hockey Team for their courage and determination to participate
- in a sport, when many would tell them they could not; and be it
- 14 further
- 15 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 16 presented to the Hornets Sled Hockey Team as an expression of
- our sincere respect and esteem and with best wishes for the
- 18 continued success of the organization.