1 SENATE RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, On May 9, 2001, President Bush nominated Miguel
- 3 A. Estrada to fill a vacancy on the United States Court of
- 4 Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Estrada's credentials go uncontested
- 6 beginning with his mastery of the English language and
- 7 American culture upon his arrival to the United States as an
- 8 immigrant from Honduras; he graduated magna cum laude from
- 9 Columbia University and Harvard Law School; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Over a year-and-a-half has passed without a vote
- on the Senate floor; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Senate judiciary committee has issued a
- 13 favorable report to the United State Senate, yet because of
- 14 partisan policies Democrat Senators threaten to filibuster a
- 15 Senate Floor vote; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Mr. Estrada has received support from liberal
- 17 and conservative colleagues alike who attest that he is one
- 18 of the most brilliant and effective appellate lawyers in the
- 19 country; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Organizations who support Mr. Estrada include
- 21 the League of United Latin American Citizens, the U.S.
- 22 Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, the Hispanic National Bar
- 23 Association, the Hispanic Business Roundtable, and The Latino
- 24 Coalition; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Mr. Estrada would be the first Hispanic in the
- 26 country to sit on the U.S. Court of Appeals District of
- 27 Columbia Circuit an important and prestigious position
- within the nation's Court of Appeals; therefore, be it
- 29 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-THIRD GENERAL
- 30 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we urge the United

- 1 States Senators and the United State Congress to work to
- 2 allow a vote on the appointment of Miguel Estrada to the U.S.
- 3 Court of Appeals District of Columbia Circuit; and be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution shall be sent to
- 6 U.S. Senator Richard Durbin, U.S. Senator Peter Fitzgerald,
- 7 the other members to the Illinois congressional delegation,
- 8 and the U.S. Senate Majority Leader, Senator Bill Frist.