$| \underbrace{\texttt{H}}_{\texttt{L}} \underbrace{\texttt{H}}_{\texttt{R}} \underbrace{\texttt{H}}_{\texttt{H}} \underbrace{\texttt{H}} \underbrace{\texttt$

Gary Hannig

Filed: 02/20/04

	09300SB1611ham001 LRB093 03052 MKM 47745 a
1	AMENDMENT TO SENATE BILL 1611
2	AMENDMENT NO Amend Senate Bill 1611 by replacing
3	everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4	"Section 5. The Department of Transportation Law of the
5	Civil Administrative Code of Illinois is amended by changing
6	Section 2705-207 as follows:
7	(20 ILCS 2705/2705-207)
8	(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2005)
9	Sec. 2705-207. Regional Transportation Task Force.
10	(a) The Regional Transportation Task Force is created
11	within the Department.
12	(b) The Task Force shall consist of 11 voting members, as
13	follows: 3 members appointed by the Governor, one of whom shall
14	be designated as chair of the task force at the time of
15	appointment; 2 members appointed by the President of the
16	Senate; 2 members appointed by the Senate Minority Leader; 2
17	members appointed by the Speaker of the House of
18	Representatives; and 2 members appointed by the House Minority
19	Leader.
20	The following shall serve, ex officio, as non-voting
21	members: the Secretary of Transportation; one member
22	designated by the Chicago Area Transportation Study (CATS); one
23	member designated by the Northeastern Illinois Planning
24	Commission (NIPC); one member designated by the Regional

09300SB1611ham001 -2- LRB093 03052 MKM 47745 a

1 Transportation Authority (RTA); one member designated by the 2 Illinois State Toll Highway Authority (ISTHA); 2 members of 3 Congress representing Illinois from different political 4 parties, as designated by the Governor; and 4 members 5 designated by the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus.

6 If a vacancy occurs in the task force membership, the 7 vacancy shall be filled in the same manner as the initial 8 appointment.

9 (c) The task force may begin to conduct business upon the 10 appointment of a majority of the voting members, including the 11 chair.

(d) The task force may adopt bylaws; it must meet at least once each calendar quarter; and it may establish committees and officers as it deems necessary. For purposes of task force meetings, a quorum is 6 voting members. Meetings of the task force are subject to the Open Meetings Act. The task force must afford an opportunity for public comment at each of its meetings.

(e) Task force members shall serve without compensation, 19 20 but may be reimbursed for their reasonable travel expenses from 21 funds available for that purpose. The Department shall provide staff and administrative support services to the task force. 22 23 The Department and the task force may accept donated services 24 and other resources from registered not-for-profit 25 organizations as may be necessary to complete the work of the 26 task force with minimal expense to the State of Illinois.

(f) The task force shall gather information and make recommendations to the Governor and to the General Assembly regarding metro area transportation programs in northeastern Illinois, which includes, without limitation, the counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will. These recommendations must include, without limitation:

33 (1) examining the feasibility of merging CATS, NIPC,
34 RTA, and ISTHA into a single agency;

(2) identifying areas where functions of these and
 other agencies are redundant or unnecessary;

3 (3) identifying methods to promote cost effectiveness,
4 efficiency, and equality in meeting area transportation
5 needs; and

6 (4) examining regional and economic impact as it 7 relates to potential policy implementation.

8 (g) The task force shall submit a report to the Governor 9 and the General Assembly by <u>April 15, 2004</u> <u>March 1, 2004</u> 10 concerning its findings and recommendations.

11 (h) This Section is repealed on January 1, 2005.

12 (Source: P.A. 93-405, eff. 8-1-03.)

Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon becoming law.".