20

21

- 1 AN ACT concerning vehicles.
- it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 2
- 3 represented in the General Assembly:
- 4 Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
- changing Section 11-406 as follows: 5
- 6 (625 ILCS 5/11-406) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-406)
- Sec. 11-406. Duty to report an accident. 7
- 8 (a) The driver of a vehicle that is in any manner
- involved in an accident within this State, resulting in 9
- injury to or death of any person, or in which damage to the 10
- property of any one person, including himself, in excess of 11
- \$500 is sustained, shall, as soon as possible but not later 12
- than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report of 13
- the accident to the Administrator. 14
- Whenever a school bus is involved in an accident in 15
- 16 this State, caused by a collision, a sudden stop
- otherwise, resulting in any property damage, personal injury 17
- 18 or death and whenever an accident occurs within 50 feet of a
- 19 school bus in this State resulting in personal injury to or
- the bus or immediately after exiting the bus, the driver

the death of any person while awaiting or preparing to board

- 22 shall as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after
- the accident, forward a written report to the Department of 23
- Transportation. If a report is also required under Subsection 24
- (a) of this Section, that report and the report required by 25
- 26 this Subsection shall be submitted on a single form.
- 27 (c) The Administrator may require any driver, occupant
- or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident of which report 28
- must be made as provided in this Section or Section 11-410 of 29
- this Chapter to file supplemental reports whenever the 30
- original report is insufficient in the opinion of the 31

- 1 Secretary of State or the Administrator, and may require
- 2 witnesses of the accident to submit written reports to the
- 3 Administrator. The report may include photographs, charts,
- 4 sketches, and graphs.
- 5 (d) Should the Administrator learn through other reports
- of accidents required by law of the occurrence of an accident
- 7 reportable under this Article and the driver, owner, or
- 8 witness has not reported as required under Subsections (a),
- 9 (b) or (c) of this Section or Section 11-410, within the time
- 10 specified, the person is not relieved of the responsibility
- and the Administrator shall notify the person by first class
- 12 mail directed to his last known address of his legal
- 13 obligation. However, the notification is not a condition
- 14 precedent to impose the penalty for failure to report as
- 15 provided in Subsection (e).
- 16 (e) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's
- 17 license or any non-resident's driving privilege of any person
- 18 who fails or neglects to make report of a traffic accident as
- 19 required or as required by any other law of this State.
- 20 (Source: P.A. 87-829.)