1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of
- 3 the State of Illinois wish to congratulate the members of the
- 4 Edison Middle School Jazz Band 1 and their director Mr. Sam
- 5 Hankins for becoming the 2003 Jazz Ensemble Grand Champion at
- 6 Musicfest Orlando in April; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Edison Middle School Jazz Band 1 in
- 8 Champaign was chosen as the Grand Champion out of 46 jazz
- 9 ensembles from across the nation; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Sam Hankins directs the Edison Middle School
- Jazz Band 1, the 6th Grade Concert Band, and the 7th & 8th
- 12 Grade Concert Band; Mr. Hankins is a professional trumpeter
- 13 and has performed with artists such as the Ojays, Aretha
- 14 Franklin, and the Dells; he has been the Edison Middle School
- 15 Band Director since September 1995; Mr. Hankins earned both a
- 16 bachelor's degree and a master's degree in music education
- from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The Edison Middle School Jazz Band 1 has been
- 19 chosen as one of three middle school jazz ensembles to
- 20 perform at the International Association for Jazz Education
- 21 International Conference in New York City in January 2004;
- 22 the Jazz Band 1 will be the only jazz ensemble from the
- 23 United States to perform; the other two middle school bands
- 24 will be from Japan and Canada; this conference is recognized
- as the largest gathering of the global jazz community; and
- 26 WHEREAS, The members of Jazz Band 1 are Ann Pataky (8th
- 27 grade; alto saxophone), Brett Anderson (7th grade; alto
- 28 saxophone), Matt Rodriguez (8th grade; tenor saxophone),
- 29 Michael Anderson (7th grade; tenor saxophone, C.B. Thompson
- 30 (8th grade; baritone saxophone, Claire Kirby (8th grade;
- 31 trumpet, Ben Peden (7th grade; trumpet), Daniel Robinson (7th
- 32 grade; trumpet), Nate Lyons (8th grade; trumpet), Emily Ho

- 1 (6th grade; trumpet), Jamey Flynn (7th grade; trombone), Matt
- 2 Hiser (8th grade; trombone), Taylor Dillon (6th grade;
- trombone), Travis Hoyne (7th grade; trombone), Andrew Kim 3
- 4 (8th grade; piano), Meghann Hiser (8th grade; piano), Eric
- 5 Egner (8th grade; drums), Nate Sokolski (6th grade; drums),
- Nigel Knop (8th grade; bass), and Jessica Evans (7th grade; 6
- vocalist); therefore, be it 7
- BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 8 RESOLVED,
- NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 9
- we congratulate the members and director of the Edison Middle 10
- School Jazz Band 1 on winning the honor of 2003 Jazz Ensemble 11
- 12 Grand Champion; and be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- presented to the director and members of Jazz Band 1 and to 14
- 15 Edison Middle School as a token of our respect and esteem and
- with our best wishes for future success. 16