1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of
- 3 the State of Illinois wish to congratulate the University of
- 4 Illinois Men's Tennis Team on winning the Singles, Doubles,
- 5 and Team NCAA Championship Titles; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The undefeated Illinois Men's Tennis Team beat
- 7 Vanderbilt 4 to 3 to win the team NCAA title; the U of I's
- 8 Amer Delic claimed the school's first ever national title in
- 9 singles; Illini team members Brian Wilson and Rajeev Ram won
- 10 the second NCAA doubles title in Illinois history; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This is the 18th time a team has captured all
- 12 three titles since the NCAA team championship competition was
- established in 1946; it is only the fourth time that one team
- 14 has won all three titles since 1977, when the current
- 15 dual-match format was adopted to determine the team
- 16 championship; this is the first time ever that a team has won
- 17 all three championship titles with one player winning the
- 18 singles championship and two others winning the doubles
- 19 tournament; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The head coach of the Fighting Illini Tennis
- 21 Team is Craig Tiley; Bruce Berque is the Associate Head
- 22 Coach; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The team members of the Men's Tennis
- 24 Fighting Illini are Michael Calkins, Pramod Dabir, Ryler
- 25 DeHeart, Amer Delic, Alex Hobson, Chris Martin, Conner
- 26 Murnighan, Rajeev Ram, Phil Stolt, Brian Wilson, and Evan
- 27 Zeder; therefore, be it
- 28 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 29 NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 30 we congratulate the team members and coaches of the Fighting
- 31 Illini Men's Tennis Team on winning the triple crown of the

- 1 NCAA Tennis Championships; and be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 3 presented to each of the coaches and members of the Fighting
- 4 Illini Tennis Team as a token of our respect and esteem and
- 5 with our best wishes for future success.