Rep. Jay Hoffman

Filed: 5/8/2019





10100SB1418ham002LRB101 08285 AWJ 60370 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 1418 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The Bi-State Development Agency Act is amended
5by changing Section 2 as follows:
6    (45 ILCS 105/2)  (from Ch. 127, par. 63s-2)
7    Sec. 2. (a) Of the Commissioners first appointed one shall
8be appointed to serve for a term of one year, one for two
9years, one for three years, one for four years and one for five
10years from the third Monday in January following his
11appointment. Beginning with the appointment to be filled in
12January of 2004, and the expiration of each term of each
13commissioner thereafter, and each succeeding commissioner
14thereafter, the Chairman of the County Board of the County of
15Madison or the County of St. Clair, as the case may be, shall,
16by and with the advice and consent of the respective County



10100SB1418ham002- 2 -LRB101 08285 AWJ 60370 a

1Board, appoint a successor who shall hold office for a term of
2five years. Each commissioner shall hold office until his
3successor has been appointed and qualified. The commissioners
4shall elect a chairman of the Illinois delegation annually from
5among themselves.
6    (b) The Chairman of the County Board of St. Clair County
7shall appoint a commissioner for the term expiring in January,
82004 and in the following year the Chairman of the County Board
9of Madison County shall appoint a commissioner for the term
10expiring in January of that year. Successive appointments shall
11alternate between the Chairman of the St. Clair County Board
12and the Chairman of the Madison County Board, except as may be
13modified by the provisions of subsection (c).
14    (c) In the event that a tax has been imposed in Monroe
15County consistent with the provisions of Section 5.01 of the
16Local Mass Transit District Act, the Chairman of the Monroe
17County Board shall, upon the expiration of the term of a
18commissioner who is a resident of the County in which 3 of the
19then remaining commissioners reside, appoint a commissioner
20with the advice and consent of the Monroe County Board. The
21commissioner appointed by the Monroe County Board shall hold
22office for a term of 5 years and a successor shall be appointed
23by the chairman of the Monroe County Board, with the advice and
24consent of the Monroe County Board. The appointments of the 4
25remaining commissioners shall then continue to alternate
26between St. Clair and Madison County so that each County shall



10100SB1418ham002- 3 -LRB101 08285 AWJ 60370 a

1continue to retain the appointments of 2 commissioners. To the
2extent that this subsection (c) conflicts with any other
3provision of this Section or Section 3, the provisions of this
4subsection (c) control.
5    (d) A county authorized to appoint commissioners that does
6not contract for light rail service with the Bi-State
7Development Agency and does not pay for that service in part
8with county-generated revenue shall be limited to one
9commissioner. When the term of an existing commissioner expires
10from the county without light rail service and there is another
11commissioner from that county serving an unexpired term, the
12commissioner leaving shall be replaced by an appointee from a
13county contracting for light rail service; this process shall
14continue until the county without light rail service has only
15one commissioner. At that point, that one commissioner will
16continue to be appointed as previously authorized by this Act.
17(Source: P.A. 93-432, eff. 6-1-04.)".