

HR0894

LRB101 22015 MST 73035 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The year 2020 marks the 100th anniversary of the 3 ratification of the 19th Amendment to the United States 4 Constitution, guaranteeing and protecting the right to vote for 5 women in the United States; and

6 WHEREAS, This centennial provides an opportunity to 7 celebrate a milestone in our democracy, that the right of 8 citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or 9 abridged by federal or state governments on account of gender; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Illinois has a history of being at the forefront 12 of the women's suffrage movement, as Illinois women played a 13 pivotal role in obtaining the right to vote for women; and

14 WHEREAS, In 1855, Susan Hoxie Richardson, cousin of Susan 15 B. Anthony, organized the first suffrage association in 16 Illinois in Earlville, a small town in LaSalle County west of 17 Chicago; and

18 WHEREAS, In 1869, the first statewide suffrage 19 organization in Illinois, the Illinois Woman's Suffrage 20 Association (IWSA), was formed, and it held its first annual 21 convention in the state capitol of Springfield in 1870; and 1 WHEREAS, In 1890, Catherine Waugh McCulloch was elected 2 IWSA Superintendent of Legislative Work and drafted 3 legislation that would give Illinois women the right to vote; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, In 1891, Illinois women gained the right to vote 6 in school board elections; and

7 WHEREAS, From 1911 to 1914, Jane Addams, who long fought 8 for suffrage in Illinois, served as Vice-President of the 9 National American Women Suffrage Association as the 10 organization helped to push for a national amendment for the 11 right to vote for women; and

12 WHEREAS, In 1913, Illinois became the first state east of 13 the Mississippi River to grant women the right to vote with the 14 passage of the Presidential Suffrage Bill; and

WHEREAS, On June 4, 1919, the U.S. Congress passed the 19th Amendment that guaranteed all American women the right to vote; and

18 WHEREAS, On June 10, 1919, Illinois became the first state 19 to vote to ratify the 19th Amendment; and HR0894 -3- LRB101 22015 MST 73035 r
1 WHEREAS, On August 18, 1920, the 19th Amendment was
2 ratified, thanks to the efforts of women from Illinois,
3 including Elizabeth Boynton Harbert, Frances E. Willard, Jane
4 Addams, Ida B. Wells, Catharine McCulloch, and Grace Wilbur
5 Trout; therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 7 HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 8 we recognize August 18, 2020 as a day to celebrate the right to 9 vote for all women in America and acknowledge the contributions 10 of the women from Illinois who worked so hard for so long to 11 bring women across the United States the full benefit of 12 citizenship.