

HR0238 LRB101 11682 MST 58086 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION Illinois House 2 WHEREAS, The members of the of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the 7th grade Athens 4 Junior High School boys basketball team, the Warriors, on 5 winning the 2018-2019 Illinois Elementary School Association 6 Class 3A State Championship; and 7 WHEREAS, The Warriors won the championship on February 7, 8 2019 by defeating Prairie Central Junior High School by a score 9 of 29 to 19; and 10 WHEREAS, The Warriors set a school record with 27 wins and 11 only two losses during their season; and 12 WHEREAS, The Warriors placed second in the regional county 13 tournament and won the regional and sectional tournaments; and 14 WHEREAS, The Warriors are coached by Head Coach Aaron 15 Janssen and Assistant Coach Brandon Grimsley; and 16 WHEREAS, The Warriors are Pryor Reynolds, Carson Muller, 17 Owen Boyer, Zac Laird, Connor Hibbs, Hunter Wheat, Grant Purchis, Camren Brigard, Ashtyn Janssen, Nick Ingram, Drew 18

Cushman, and Colby Brown; therefore, be it

19

- 1 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 2 3 we congratulate the 7th grade Athens Junior High School boys basketball team, the Warriors, on winning the 2018-2019 4 5 Illinois Elementary School Association Class 3A 6 Championship, and we commend them for their hard work, 7 determination, and teamwork and for the outstanding coaching staff leading the team; and be it further 8
- 9 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 10 presented to the each Warrior player, their parents, and the 11 coaching staff.