

HR0177 LRB101 11378 MST 57217 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On the afternoon of Friday, February 15, 2019, officers from the Aurora Police Department and the Aurora Fire Department responded to a call that is, sadly, becoming an increasingly common occurrence; reports of an active shooter quickly shrouded the day in tragedy and unsettled not only one community in Illinois but an entire nation; the malicious actions of one individual forever changed the lives of many; and

WHEREAS, The events of that tragic day have become yet another chapter in the lives of the seemingly ever-increasing victims of senseless, inexplicable violence that has plagued our nation and our homes; and

WHEREAS, The violence that occurred on the grounds of the Henry Pratt Company on that sullen 15th day of February may never be entirely understood, resolved, or healed in the hearts and minds of the those impacted by this tragedy; the loss of five innocent lives, Clayton Parks of Elgin, Trevor Wehner of DeKalb, Russell Beyer of Yorkville, Vicente Juarez of Oswego, and Josh Pinkard of Oswego, will never be forgotten; the innocent lives taken will always remain in our memories; and

WHEREAS, There was much loss on that fateful day, however,

- 1 the brave, steadfast response of the Aurora Police Department
- 2 and the Aurora Fire Department prevented any further civilian
- 3 casualties; the actions taken by the numerous members of law
- 4 enforcement, without a doubt, helped prevent the losses from
- 5 being any greater; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Everyday, law enforcement agencies and first
- 7 responders throughout this country are increasingly impacted
- 8 by acts of violence; at all times, our members of law
- 9 enforcement are prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice to
- serve and protect their communities; the selfless acts of the
- 11 Aurora Police Department on that day followed through with that
- 12 directive; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Unfortunately, the commitment to public safety
- 14 has difficult consequences, and, although gratefully no
- officers were fatally wounded while responding to the Henry
- 16 Pratt Company shooting, six officers sustained critical
- injuries; in the words of Aurora Police Department Chief
- 18 Kristen Ziman, these six officers, by the names of John
- 19 Cebulski, James Zegar, Reynaldo Rivera, Marco Gomez, Adam
- 20 Miller, and Diego Avila, are the "true heroes, and we honor
- 21 them for their selfless service to the citizens of Aurora"; and
- 22 WHEREAS, The courageous actions taken by the many members
- of law enforcement and first responders saved lives on February

- 1 15th; they did the job that they are always expected to do, but
- 2 it is one that almost always goes unrewarded and unappreciated;
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 5 HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 6 we commend the valiant efforts of the Aurora Police Department,
- 7 the Aurora Fire Department, 9-1-1 operators, and the numerous
- 8 other law enforcement agencies and first responders for the
- 9 incredible resilience they showed during the tragic events that
- 10 took place on February 15, 2019 at the Henry Pratt Company; and
- 11 be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That we stand with and support the families of
- all those who were impacted by the tragic events in the City of
- 14 Aurora; and be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 16 presented to the Aurora Police Department, the Aurora Fire
- 17 Department, and the Office of the Mayor of Aurora as a symbol
- of our appreciation and respect.