

101ST GENERAL ASSEMBLY

State of Illinois

2019 and 2020

HB1339

by Rep. Michael J. Madigan

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

705 ILCS 35/1

from Ch. 37, par. 72.1

Amends the Circuit Courts Act. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning the judicial circuits.

LRB101 03587 LNS 48595 b

1 AN ACT concerning courts.

2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 3 represented in the General Assembly:

Section 5. The Circuit Courts Act is amended by changing
Section 1 as follows:

6 (705 ILCS 35/1) (from Ch. 37, par. 72.1)

Sec. 1. Judicial circuits created. <u>The</u> The county of Cook
shall be one judicial circuit and the State of Illinois,
exclusive of the county of Cook, shall be and is divided into
judicial circuits as follows:

First Circuit--The counties of Alexander, Pulaski, Massac,
Pope, Johnson, Union, Jackson, Williamson and Saline.

Second Circuit--The counties of Hardin, Gallatin, White,
Hamilton, Franklin, Wabash, Edwards, Wayne, Jefferson,
Richland, Lawrence and Crawford.

16 Third Circuit--The counties of Madison and Bond.

Fourth Circuit--The counties of Clinton, Marion, Clay,
Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Montgomery, Shelby and Christian.

19 Fifth Circuit--The counties of Vermilion, Edgar, Clark,20 Cumberland and Coles.

21 Sixth Circuit--The counties of Champaign, Douglas,
22 Moultrie, Macon, DeWitt and Piatt.

23 Seventh Circuit--The counties of Sangamon, Macoupin,

- 2 - LRB101 03587 LNS 48595 b

HB1339

Morgan, Scott, Greene and Jersey. 1 Eighth Circuit--The counties of Adams, Schuyler, Mason, 2 Cass, Brown, Pike, Calhoun and Menard. 3 4 Ninth Circuit--The counties of Knox, Warren, Henderson, 5 Hancock, McDonough and Fulton. Tenth Circuit--The counties of Peoria, Marshall, Putnam, 6 7 Stark and Tazewell. 8 Eleventh Circuit--The counties of McLean, Livingston, 9 Logan, Ford and Woodford. 10 Twelfth Circuit--The county of Will. 11 Thirteenth Circuit--The counties of Bureau, LaSalle and 12 Grundy. 13 Fourteenth Circuit--The counties of Rock Island, Mercer, 14 Whiteside and Henry. 15 Fifteenth Circuit--The counties of Jo Daviess, Stephenson, 16 Carroll, Ogle and Lee. 17 Sixteenth Circuit--Before December 3, 2012, the counties of Kane, DeKalb, and Kendall. On and after December 3, 2012, 18 19 the County of Kane. 20 Seventeenth Circuit--The counties of Winnebago and Boone. 21 Eighteenth Circuit--The county of DuPage. 22 Nineteenth Circuit--Before December 4, 2006, the counties 23 of Lake and McHenry. On and after December 4, 2006, the County 24 of Lake. Twentieth Circuit--The counties of Randolph, Monroe, St. 25 Clair, Washington and Perry. 26

HB1339 - 3 - LRB101 03587 LNS 48595 b

Twenty-first Circuit--The counties of Iroquois and
 Kankakee.

3 Twenty-second Circuit--On and after December 4, 2006, the
4 County of McHenry.

5 Twenty-third Circuit--On and after December 3, 2012, the 6 counties of DeKalb and Kendall.

7 (Source: P.A. 97-585, eff. 8-26-11; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)