

HR0645 LRB100 13626 MST 29123 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2	WHEREAS,	The	mem	bers	of	th	e Il	linois	House	of
3	Representatives	s wish	to	recogn	ize	the	150th	anniver	sary of	the
4	founding of Mai	n Bapt	tist	Church	nin	Auro	ora; ai	nd		

WHEREAS, Main Baptist Church had its beginning in the Park Place Baptist Church under the guidance of Rev. Buttons; the church was instrumental in the transportation of runaway slaves to Aurora by way of the Underground Railroad; as the number of African American church members grew, they felt the need for their own place of worship, and so in June of 1867, the Colored Baptist Church of Aurora was founded; and

WHEREAS, Around the 1890s, a frame church was erected on the present site and the name of the church became Third Baptist; and

WHEREAS, On November 24, 1924, Third Baptist Church was torn down and worship services were held in the Grand Army of the Republic Hall, the Aurora City Hall, the Labor Temple, and various other places; on August 23, 1925, Rev. G. W. Alexander preached the sermon for the "Laying of the Cornerstone" at the church's current location and it was renamed Main Street Baptist Church; and

- 1 WHEREAS, During the first 48 years, the following Ministers
- 2 served as pastor (though not necessarily in this order): Rev.
- 3 E.R. Moore, Rev. Edward Robinson, Rev. William Webster, Rev.
- 4 Ernhouse, Rev. E.H. Beverly, Rev. John Ford, Rev. E.H. Norden,
- 5 Rev. George Dickerson, Rev. Hackney, Rev. Vernon Cooper, Rev.
- 6 William Gray, Rev. B.P.E. Gayles, Rev. C.B. Smith, and Rev.
- 7 Alton Blake; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Rev. Joseph Griffin served as pastor from November
- 9 of 1949 until November of 1954; in April of 1955, Rev. Robert
- 10 Wesby became pastor and served until November of 1963; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In 1964, due to the changing names of many streets
- in Aurora, the church became known as Main Baptist Church; and
- 13 WHEREAS, On May 14, 1964, Rev. Robert Edward Morgan became
- pastor; he added new women trustees, a first in the life of the
- 15 church; they were Sisters Estella Smith, Martha Dade, Tommie
- 16 Wells, Eunice Tresenwriter, and Donna Williams; he also added
- deacons, deaconesses, Mother's Board, Nurses Aid Guild, Men's
- 18 Club, Church Council, Youth Fellowship, and many more
- organizations; he served until 1972; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Dezo McGill became pastor on August 12, 1973; on
- June 8, 1980, the church mortgage was "burned"; Pastor McGill
- 22 started the African Crusade Ministry, a team that traveled to

- 1 Zimbabwe, Africa for over 25 years, providing outreach to
- 2 thousands of individuals; he retired in October of 2006 after
- 3 32 years; and
- WHEREAS, Main Baptist Church is currently led by Rev. Dr.
- Julian E. Spencer, who joined the church on June 2, 2007; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Main Baptist Church continues to grow and move
- forward as a spiritual pillar in the community; therefore, be
- 8 it
- 9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 10 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 11 recognize the 150th anniversary of the founding of Main Baptist
- 12 Church in Aurora, and we wish them many more wonderful years;
- 13 and be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 15 presented to Main Baptist Church as a symbol of our respect and
- 16 esteem.