

HR0464 LRB100 13014 MST 27270 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

21

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the University of 4 Illinois at Chicago men's baseball team, the Flames, on winning 5 the 2017 Horizon League Tournament and securing a bid to the 6 NCAA Tournament; and 7 WHEREAS, This was the fifth time in program history that 8 the Flames won the Horizon League Tournament; the victory 9 marked the 39th of the season, matching the program record 10 previously achieved in both 2002 and 2003; and WHEREAS, The Flames have earned the conference's automatic 11 12 bid into the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2008; and 13 WHEREAS, David Cronin was named the Most Valuable Player of the Horizon League Championship; he was joined on 14 15 All-Tournament Team by fellow teammates Reid Birlingmair, Cody Bohanek, Jake Dahlberg, and Mickey McDonald; and 16 WHEREAS, The Flames lowered their staff ERA to 2.57 on the 17 18 season, second in the nation behind Oregon State; the Flames 19 boasted the top fielding-percentage defense in the NCAA 20 entering the championship game and did not commit a defensive

miscue in three Horizon League Championship games; the Flames

1

- batted .303 in the tournament; and
- WHEREAS, The Flames are coached by Head Coach Mike Dee,
- 3 Assistant Head Coach Sean McDermott, Assistant Coach John
- 4 Flood, and Assistant Coach Brian Harris; they are supported by
- 5 Bill Seiple, Denny Wills, Nick Zostautas, Darren Kent, Dr.
- 6 Wendy Borlabi, and Rachel Webb; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Flames are David Cronin, Brandon Gibis, Josh
- 8 Gere, Thomas Norton, Riley Hebert, Scott Ota, Matt Bottcher,
- 9 Garrett Myers, Jack Andersen, Jake Dahlberg, Joey Fredrickson,
- 10 Mickey McDonald, Reid Birlingmair, Mitchell Schulewitz, Austin
- 11 Smith, Noah Masa, Fred Gosbeth, Ricardo Ramirez, Rob Calabrese,
- 12 Alex Padilla, Bowen Ogata, Alex Dee, Chris Macahon, Connor
- 13 Ryan, Jacob Key, Wyatt Trautwein, Cody Bohanek, Sam Ballard,
- 14 Derrick Patrick, Danny Riley, Ryan Campbell, Joshua Figueroa,
- Jordan Krueger, and Charlie Cerny; therefore, be it
- 16 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 17 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 18 congratulate the University of Illinois at Chicago men's
- 19 baseball team, the Flames, on winning the 2017 Horizon League
- Tournament and securing a bid to the NCAA Tournament; and be it
- 21 further
- 22 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be

1 presented to the Flames as a symbol of our respect and esteem.