

HR0433

LRB100 12901 MST 26795 r

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, National Louis University was founded by 3 Elizabeth Harrison over 130 years ago as an institution 4 dedicated to training teachers in the belief that education is 5 the engine of prosperity and social justice; and

6 WHEREAS, National Louis University is well-known in the 7 education community as a national leader and innovator; many 8 outside that community may not know that the American 9 Kindergarten Movement, Parent Teacher Associations, the Head 10 Start Program, and bachelor's degrees in elementary education 11 all began in Illinois with National Louis University's research 12 and advocacy; and

13 WHEREAS, National Louis University's National College of 14 Education is nationally known for educating future teachers to 15 succeed in urban environments; 70 National Louis University 16 alumni have won the prestigious Golden Apple Award for 17 Excellence in Teaching - far more than any other Illinois 18 school of education; and

19 WHEREAS, National Louis University continues its proud 20 tradition of evolving to meet the needs of 21st Century 21 students and communities, and leading advancements in the field 22 of education through such innovative initiatives as the HR0433 -2- LRB100 12901 MST 26795 r
Harrison Professional Pathways program, which focuses on
providing wrap-around support and a high quality education at
an affordable price to help modest-income students attain their
bachelor's degrees; and

5 WHEREAS, National Louis University will be presenting its 6 Pioneer and Reach Awards to the 2017 winners at its Awards Gala 7 on June 6, 2017; and

8 WHEREAS, The Pioneer Award is given to an individual who 9 exhibits exceptional character as well as a sense of higher 10 purpose in life and work, thereby increasing opportunity and 11 quality of life for others and thus reflecting the core values 12 of National Louis University and its founder, Elizabeth 13 Harrison; and

14 WHEREAS, Dominic Belmonte, Chief Executive Officer of the 15 Golden Apple Foundation for Excellence in Teaching, is the 16 recipient of the 2017 National Louis University Pioneer Award; 17 and

18 WHEREAS, National Louis University Reach Awards are given 19 to alumni who are making a significant impact in their fields 20 and the communities in which they work and live; and

21

WHEREAS, Lynn Cherkasky-Davis of the Chicago Teachers

HR0433 -3- LRB100 12901 MST 26795 r
Union Foundation, J.P. Watkins of the Council for the Jewish
Elderly, and Salisia Webber of Allure Events and Design are
recipients of the 2017 National Louis University Reach Awards;
and

5 WHEREAS, National Louis University has more than 130 years 6 of leadership and continues to realize the University's vision 7 of education as the most effective pathway to justice and 8 economic well-being; therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 10 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 11 wish to congratulate National Louis University and the 12 recipients of the 2017 Pioneer and Reach Awards and express our 13 gratitude for their dedication to improving the lives of the 14 people of Illinois; and be it further

RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each award recipient and to National Louis University as an expression of our esteem and respect.