

HR0249 LRB100 11832 MST 24498 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- members of Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to recognize the appointment of 4 Darby Dickerson as the Dean of The John Marshall Law School; 5 and 6 WHEREAS, The John Marshall Law School is the largest,
- independent law school in the Midwest with more than 11,500 living alumni in the state of Illinois; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson earned her Bachelor of Arts and
  10 Master of Arts from the College of William & Mary in Virginia
  11 and received her Juris Doctor from Vanderbilt University in
  12 Tennessee; and
- WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson clerked for the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit; and
- WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson practiced commercial litigation
  with Locke Lord in Dallas, Texas and was named Outstanding
  Young Lawyer in Dallas and Outstanding Director of the Texas
  Young Lawyers Association; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson was previously Dean at Stetson 20 University College of Law, and at the Texas Tech University

- 1 School of Law, and held the W. Frank Newton Endowed
- 2 Professorship at the Texas Tech University School of Law; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson serves on the Executive Committee
- 4 of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) and is past
- 5 Chair of several AALS sections; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson is an elected member of the
- 7 American Law Institute, a Sustaining Life Fellow of the Texas
- 8 Bar Foundation, and is an inaugural member of the Texas Tech
- 9 University School of Law American Inn of Court; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson served on the Council of the
- 11 Appellate Section of the State Bar of Texas and is the
- 12 immediate Past President of Scribes The American Society of
- 13 Legal Writers; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson was the inaugural recipient of the
- 15 Darby Dickerson Award for Revolutionary Change in Legal Writing
- 16 presented by the Association of Legal Writing Directors to
- 17 honor her contributions to legal writing; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Dean Dickerson received a Burton Award for
- 19 Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education;
- therefore, be it

- RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
  HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
  are pleased to recognize the appointment of Darby Dickerson as
  the Dean of The John Marshall Law School, and we wish her
  success in her new position; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to Dean Dickerson as an expression of our esteem and respect.