

HR0166

LRB100 11574 MST 22282 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to recognize the 1970-71 and 1971-72 4 Thornridge High School Varsity Boys basketball teams, the 5 Falcons; and

WHEREAS, In the fall of 1967, Thornridge High School became 6 7 part of a plan to ensure that all students in District 205 8 would have the opportunity for a quality education, regardless 9 of color or zip code; it was determined that a small group of 10 eighth graders would be bussed that fall to Thornridge, 11 integrating the all-white campus; by 1970, the boys basketball 12 team was a racially-diverse group of athletes; they would go on 13 to win the 1971 and 1972 State Championships, the only 14 championships in Thornridge High School history, and become 15 known as the greatest high school basketball teams in Illinois 16 history; and

WHEREAS, The 1971-72 Falcons compiled a season-record of 33 wins and no losses, winning by an average of almost 33 points a game and defeating 16 conference champions; the score of the title game over Quincy of 104 to 69 remains a record for the largest margin of victory; and

22

WHEREAS, Over the 1970-71 and 1971-72 seasons, the Falcons

HR0166 -2- LRB100 11574 MST 22282 r put together a winning streak of 58 games; and

1

WHEREAS, The starters for the 1970-71 and 1971-72 Falcons, 2 3 Quinn Buckner; Boyd Batts; Greq Rose; Ernest Dunn; Mike 4 Bonczyk; Michael Henry; Mark McClain; William "Nee" Gatlin; 5 James Loggins; and team Captain, Tony "Grubbs" Jackson, will be 6 present at a jersey retirement ceremony and celebration of the 7 greatest Illinois high school basketball teams in history on 8 February 23, 2017 at Thornridge Gymnasium in Dolton; therefore, 9 be it

10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 11 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 12 recognize the 1970-71 and 1971-72 Thornridge High School 13 Varsity Boys basketball teams, the Falcons; and be it further

14 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 15 presented to Quinn Buckner; Boyd Batts; Greg Rose; Ernest Dunn; 16 Mike Bonczyk; Michael Henry; Mark McClain; William "Nee" 17 Gatlin; James Loggins; team Captain, Tony "Grubbs" Jackson; and 18 head coach, Ron Ferguson.