

HJ0136 LRB100 22152 MST 40562 r

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1

21

22

2	WHEREAS, There is an unbalanced approach concerning how
3	taxes are assessed on commercial real estate in the south
4	suburbs, which may be draining those businesses and driving
5	them away; therefore, be it
6	RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
7	HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE SENATE
8	CONCURRING HEREIN, that the South Suburban Commercial Real
9	Estate Tax Assessment Task Force is created; and be it further
10	RESOLED, That the Task Force should look at the following
11	issues:
12	(1) If proximity to Indiana is impacting business
13	closing;
14	(2) How many businesses have left Illinois for Indiana;
15	and
16	(3) If implementing a five-year pilot program for a
17	flat tax rate system would stabilize the area; and be it
18	further
19	RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the
20	following members, who shall serve without compensation:

(1) Two members of the House of Representatives, one

from each party, appointed by the Speaker of the House and

1	the	House	Minority	Leader	respective	Lγ;

- 2 (2) Two members of the Senate, one from each party,
 3 appointed by the Senate President and the Senate Minority
 4 Leader respectively; and
- 5 (3) Two south suburban businessmen, one each appointed 6 by the Speaker of the House and Senate President 7 respectively; and be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That the Department of Revenue shall provide 9 administrative support; and be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall meet at least three 11 times and submit their final report no later than December 31, 12 2018, and upon the filing of its report, the Task Force is 13 dissolved; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the report filed with the General Assembly
 shall be filed with the Clerk of the House of Representatives
 and the Secretary of the Senate in electronic form only, in the
 manner that the Clerk and Secretary shall direct; and be it
 further
- RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be delivered to the Speaker of the House, the House Minority Leader, the Senate President, the Senate Minority Leader, and the Director of Revenue.