

HJ0087

LRB100 15593 MST 30684 r

1

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The current version of the tax reform bill now 3 before the United States Congress eliminates the Federal 4 Historic Tax Credit (FHTC); and

5 WHEREAS, In Illinois, the FHTC helped finance 269 Federal 6 Historic Tax Credit projects between fiscal year 2002 through 7 2016, resulting in over \$3 billion in total development and 8 over 45,000 jobs; and

9 WHEREAS, If the FHTC is eliminated, projects in Illinois 10 that would be at risk include, the Lathrop Homes, the Old 11 Chicago Post Office, the Old Cook County Hospital, the Overton 12 School in Chicago, the Campana Building in Batavia, the Ziock 13 Building in Rockford, the Kaskaskia Hotel in LaSalle, the 5th 14 Avenue and Sears Roebuck and Co. Buildings in Moline, buildings in the Peoria Warehouse District, the Hotel Belleville in 15 16 Belleville, and many more; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the State of Illinois River Edge Historic Tax Credit program must be paired with the FHTC; if the FHTC is eliminated, not only will critical revitalization projects in Aurora, Elgin, Peoria, and Rockford be at risk, but legislatively the state program will have to be amended and would not likely be able to make up the difference of lost HJ0087 -2- LRB100 15593 MST 30684 r credits at the federal level; and

2 WHEREAS, The FHTC is not just about rehabilitating historic 3 buildings it is a proven economic development tool and a local 4 jobs creator; therefore, be it

1

5 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 6 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE SENATE 7 CONCURRING HEREIN, that we urge Congress to retain the Federal 8 Historic Tax Credit in whatever tax reform bill they pass; and 9 be it further

10 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 11 delivered to President Donald Trump, U.S. Senate Majority 12 Leader Mitch McConnell, U.S. Senate Minority Leader Chuck 13 Schumer, U.S. Speaker of the House Paul Ryan, U.S. House of 14 Representatives Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, and all members 15 of the Illinois Congressional Delegation.