

NATIONAL CONFERENCE of STATE LEGISLATURES

The Forum for America's Ideas

Limitations on Political Contributions by Minors Selected Statutes

Alaska (** correct cite 2AAC 50.258; substance changed to be same as AR) A minor

may not contribute money or anything of value given to the child by a parent

for that purpose (2 AAC 50.357(d))

Arizona A contribution from an unemancipated minor is treated as a contribution from

his parents (ARS §16-905(K)(3))

Arkansas When a person provides his/her dependent child with funds to make a

contribution to a candidate, the contribution shall be attributed to such person

for purposes of applying the contribution limit (ACA §7-6-205(d))

California A contribution made by a child under 18 years of age is presumed to be a

contribution made by the parent or guardian of the child (Govt. Code

§85308b)

Connecticut No individual who is less than sixteen years of age shall make a contribution

in excess of thirty dollars (CGS §9-611(e))

Florida No unemancipated child under the age of 18 years may make a contribution to

any candidate or political committee in excess of \$100 (FS §106.08(1)(b)(2))

Hawaii A contribution by a dependent minor is reported in the name of the minor but

counts against the contribution of the minor's parent or guardian (HRS §11-

204(d))

Kansas Contributions made by unemancipated children under 18 years of age are

considered contributions made by the parent or parents of such children. The total amount of such contribution shall be attributed to a single custodial parent and 50% of such contribution to each of two parents. (KSA §25-

4153(c))

Kentucky Candidates may not accept a contribution in excess of \$100 from a person

who will not be 18 years of age by the date of the election (KRS §121.150(5))

Massachusetts Persons under age 18 may not contribute more than \$25 per calendar year, in

the aggregate.

Michigan A contribution or expenditure by a dependent minor shall be reported in the

name of the minor but shall be counted against the contribution limitations of

the minor's parent or guardian (MCL §169.253)

Missouri Contributions from persons under fourteen years of age are considered made

by the parents or guardians and are attributed toward contribution limit. (Mo.

Rev. Stat. §130.032(5))

Nebraska Any contribution or expenditure made by a dependent minor shall be reported

in the name of the minor's parent or guardian. (NRS §49-1468)

Ohio No individual who is under seven years of age shall make any contribution.

(3517.102(B)(1)(c))

Oklahoma For the purposes of limitations on contributions, those made by husband, wife

and all unemancipated children under the age of 18 are aggregated to a single

family limit. (21 OS 187.1)

Rhode Island A contribution from an individual's dependent children shall be deemed a

contribution from the individual for the purpose of determining whether aggregate contributions exceed either the \$100 threshold for reporting purposes or the \$1,000 maximum for contributions to a single candidate or political action committee or the \$10,000 maximum for contributing to all candidates and political action committees within a calendar year. No dependent child shall contribute an amount which, when added to

contributions already made by that child's parent or legal guardian and by other dependent children of that parent or legal guardian, exceed the \$1,000 maximum for contributions to a single candidate or political action committee

or exceed the \$10,000 maximum for contributions to all state or local

candidates and political action committees within a calendar year. (RIGL §17-

25-10.1(f))

South Carolina Contributions by unemancipated children under eighteen years of age are

considered contributions by their parents. Fifty percent of the contributions are attributed to each parent, or in the case of a single custodial parent, the total amount is attributed to the custodial parent. (SC Code §8-13-1330)

to the time the time to the constant process (as a constant process)

A contribution by a child under the age of 18 of an individual is considered to

be a contribution by the individual (VTCA Elec. Code §253.158)

West Virginia (** may be repealed?) Minors under the age of 18 may make a contribution if

(a) the decision to contribute is made knowingly and voluntarily by the minor child; (b) the funds, goods or services are owned and controlled exclusively by the minor child; (c) the contribution is not made from the proceeds of a gift, the purpose of which was to provide funds to be contributed, or is not in

any other way controlled by another individual (WV Code §3-8-12(f))

UPDATED 7/26/05 – HI, KS, KY, MO, SC Updated June 2006: Arkansas, Connecticut

Texas