
	 Penalties for Crimes in Illinois
			   Possible	 Probation	 Mandatory
	 Category	 Usual prison	 extended	 in lieu of	 supervised	 Maximum
	  of crime	 or jail term	 term1	 confinement2	 release term3	 fine4

Murder

       First-degree	 Life, no parole5	 —	 Not allowed	 —
		  20-60 years6	 60-100 years	 Not allowed	 3 years	 $25,000*

       Second-degree	 4-20 years	 15-30 years	 4 years	 2 years

Habitual

Criminal7	 Life, no parole	 —	 Not allowed	 —	 —

Felony

Class	 X	 6-30 years	 30-60 years	 Not allowed	 3 years	 $25,000*

	 1	 4-15 years	 15-30 years8	 Up to 4 years9	 2 years	 (or more if

	 2	 3-7 years	 7-14 years8	 Up to 4 years9	 2 years	 specified;

	 3	 2-5 years	 5-10 years	 Up to 21/2 years	 1 year	 $50,000* if a

	 4	 1-3 years	 3-6 years	 Up to 21/2 years	 1 year	 corporation)

Misdemeanor

Class	 A	 Under 1 year	 —	 Up to 2 years	 —	 $2,500*

	 B	 Up to 6 months	 —	 Up to 2 years	 —	 1,500*

	 C	 Up to 30 days	 —	 Up to 2 years	 —	 1,500*

Petty Offense	 —	 —	 Up to 6 months	 —	 Amount specified; 
					     limited to $1,000*

Business Offense	 —	 —	 —	 —	 Amount specified

Traffic Violation	 —	 —	 —	 —	 Varied amounts10

*	 Most fines are subject to mandatory surcharges of at least one-fourth the amount imposed.  Note 4 on the reverse side gives details.

Note:	 This summary of Illinois’ complex sentencing provisions lists the normal penalties for each class of crime.  Laws defining some crimes set higher penalties than the normal penalties for their classes.  Numbered notes 
are on the reverse side.
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1.	 Extended Term.  The court may impose an extended term in lieu of the usual term on a 
person convicted of any of a number of crimes (or of crimes committed in types of cir-
cumstances) listed in 730 ILCS 5/5-5-3.2(a) to (e).  An extended term can also be imposed 
if an aggravating factor described in note 5 below was present.

2.	 Probation.  Except for the most serious crimes, an offender can be sentenced to a term of 
probation in lieu of jail or prison.  The “Probation term in lieu of confinement” column 
lists maximum probation terms by class of crime.  A probationer may not have a weapon 
or leave the state without permission, and must pay a $50 fee and any fees for court-
ordered treatment, in addition to other conditions imposed by law or the court.  See note 9 
below on felonies not subject to probation. 

3.	 Mandatory Supervised Release (MSR).  This is a period of parole that automatically 
follows a prison term for a felony.  Persons convicted of some of the more serious sex 
crimes (mostly involving children or child pornography) must serve from 3 years to as 
long as natural life of MSR.  A person convicted of felony or aggravated domestic battery, 
stalking or aggravated stalking, or a felony violation of an order of protection must serve 
4 years of MSR; a person convicted of a repeat offense of aggravated or felony criminal 
sexual abuse of a victim under 18 must serve 4 years of MSR, with at least the first 2 
under electronic home detention.  The Prisoner Review Board can release from MSR a 
person whom it considers likely to avoid additional crimes.

4.	 Fines.  If a fine is imposed, other than for a nonmoving traffic offense or a pedestrian of-
fense, there is added to it a penalty of $10 per $40 or fraction of $40.  Thus the fines listed 
must be increased by one-fourth to approximate maximum base fines.  Separate surcharg-
es of $100 for a felony, $75 for a misdemeanor (except a conservation offense), and $50 
for many Vehicle Code offenses also apply.  Other surcharges on fines for specific kinds 
of crimes are authorized, principally in 730 ILCS 5/5-9-1.1 to 5/5-9-1.20.

5.	 Life in Prison.  A first-degree murderer may be sentenced to life in prison without pos-
sibility of parole if the killing was done with “. . . wanton cruelty.”  A person who was 
at least 18 when committing first-degree murder may be so sentenced if he or she killed:  
(1) any of the following kinds of persons who were performing their duties, or to prevent 
or retaliate for such performance:  a peace officer; participant in a criminal investigation, 
prosecution, or trial; prison or jail employee; physician, psychologist, nurse, or physician 
assistant; firefighter; emergency medical worker employed by government; or community 
policing volunteer; (2) a prisoner or other person authorized to be in a prison or jail; (3) 
two or more persons, at the same or different times, if done with separate intent or in sepa-
rate acts; (4) as a result of a hijacking; (5) for hire, or by hiring another; (6) intentionally, 
acting either alone or with another, in the course of another “inherently violent” felony; 
(7) a person under age 12, or at least 60, with “. . . wanton cruelty;” (8) intentionally as 
part of a drug crime, or by causing another person to kill as part of such a crime; (9) while 
in prison and in the course of committing or conspiring to commit another felony; (10) in 
a “cold, calculated, and premeditated manner” as part of a scheme to take a life illegally; 
(11) as a leader of a criminal drug conspiracy who caused the victim to be killed; (12) 
intentionally in a way that involved torture; (13) in a drive-by shooting; (14) a disabled 

person; (15) a person who had an order of protection against the murderer; (16) a teacher 
or other school employee, in or near a school; or (17) as part of a terrorist act.  The court 
must impose a sentence of life in prison without parole on any first-degree murderer who 
killed (a) after being earlier convicted of first-degree murder anywhere in the U.S.; (b) a 
person under age 12, if the murderer was at least 17; (c) in the course of a criminal sexual 
assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, or aggravated kidnapping of a person under 
age 12 even though the murderer was not yet 17; or (d) a peace officer, firefighter, emer-
gency medical or emergency management worker, or correctional employee performing 
those duties, or to prevent or retaliate for such performance. 

6.	 The range of possible prison sentences for first-degree murder is 20 to 60 years, unless a 
fact justifying life in prison is present.  But if the murderer carried a firearm, the term is 
automatically increased by 15 years; if he or she fired it, by 20 years; or if the firing caused 
great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement, or death, by 25 years to life.

7.	 Habitual Criminality.  This is not a crime, but an adjudication of a person who has twice 
been convicted in U.S. courts of any crime(s) containing the same elements as first-degree 
murder, a Class X felony, aggravated kidnapping, and/or criminal sexual assault; and after 
being out of custody for the first such crime for less than 20 years, commits a third such 
crime (other than aggravated kidnapping).

8.	 A person who, twice after January 1978, committed and was convicted in any U.S. courts 
of any crime(s) containing the same elements as Class 2 or worse felonies, and while over 
age 21 commits a Class 1 or 2 felony, is to be sentenced as a Class X felon.

9.	 Probation is not ordinarily allowed for a Class 2 or worse felony committed within 10 
years after conviction of another Class 2 or worse felony.  Probation is prohibited for nu-
merous other kinds of crimes or situations listed in 730 ILCS 5/5-5-3(c)(2).

10.	 Fines for common traffic violations such as speeding are typically paid by posting bail 
as provided by Supreme Court Rule 526 and allowing it to be forfeited under Rule 529.  
Fines for exceeding speed limits in school, construction, and park and recreation zones are 
specified in 625 ILCS 5/11-605 to 5/11-605.3.  Other statutory provisions prescribe fines 
for various other Vehicle Code violations.

Sources:  This chart is based principally on the following sections of Illinois law in effect as 
of early 2014:  720 ILCS 5/9-1 and 5/9-2; 725 ILCS 240/10; 730 ILCS 5/3-3-3, 5/3-3-8, 
5/5-4.5-10 to 5/5-4.5-80 and 5/5-4.5-95, 5/5-5-3, 5/5-5-3.2, 5/5-6-1 ff., 5/5-8-1 ff., and 
5/5-9-1 ff.; and 20 ILCS 301/40-5 ff.


