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Proposed Rulemakings

ADOPTED RULES:  Rules adopted by agencies this week.  EMERGENCY RULES: Adopted for a temporary period not to exceed 150 days.
PROPOSED  RULES:  Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a 45-day First Notice period during which public comments must be accepted.
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules  adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.
Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-profit corporations.  Agencies are required to consider comments
from these groups and minimize the regulatory burden on them.
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS:  Submit mail, email or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT:  Available on the Secretary of State (www.cyberdriveillinois.com)  and General Assembly (www.ilga.gov) websites under Illinois Register. Second
Notice text (original version with changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is available on the JCAR website.
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GUN DEALER LICENSING

The ILLINOIS STATE POLICE
proposed a new Part titled Firearm
Dealer License Certification Act
(20 IAC 1232; 44 Ill Reg 2446)
implementing Public Act 100-
1178, which requires all Illinois
holders of a Federal Firearms
License (FFL) to additionally
receive certification from the State
in order to sell, lease or otherwise
transfer firearms. This proposed
new Part replaces a previously
proposed rule (43 Ill Reg 9084)
that was withdrawn last week.
A public hearing on this
proposed rule is scheduled for
Thurs. Feb. 20, at 1:30 p.m. in
the Auditorium of the Howlett
Building, 501 S. Second St.,
Springfield (immediately south of
the Capitol).
A companion emergency rule,
effective 1/3/20 for a maximum of
150 days, appeared in the 1/17/
20 Illinois Register at 44 Ill Reg
1681.

The DEPARTMENT OF
FINANCIAL AND
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
proposed amendments to the Part
titled Physician Assistant Practice
Act of 1987 (68 IAC 1350; 43 Ill
Reg 7335), effective 1/31/20,
implementing the sunset
reauthorization of the Act (Public
Act 100-453). The rulemaking
replaces the term “supervising”
physician with “collaborating”
physician and changes
“supervision agreement” to
“collaborative agreement”. A single
physician may generally
collaborate with up to 7 (currently,
2) full-time physician assistants;
this limit may be exceeded if
services are being provided in a
primary care health professional
shortage area determined by the
federal Department of Health and

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS

Peremptory Rule, Page 3

Clarifications
The new Part includes new and
revised definitions clarifying who is
considered to be engaged in the
business of dealing, selling,
leasing, or otherwise transferring
firearms with the principal
objective of livelihood and profit,
which makes them subject to the
Act and this Part.

Entities excluded from this
definition and NOT subject to these
rules include:
— gunsmiths who merely service
or repair firearms and return them
to the customer;
— collectors of firearms as curios
or relics;
— firearms manufacturers or
importers who do not sell, lease or
transfer them at wholesale or retail
to individual purchasers;

New Rules
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Adopted Rules
(cont. from page 1)

(cont.  page 4)

an emergency rule that was
effective 12/2/19. The rulemaking
requires applicants for
appointment as sworn State Police
officers to have an associate
degree or to have completed 60
credit hours of study at an
accredited college or university.
(Formerly, for applicants with less
than a bachelor’s degree, various
combinations of education and
police experience or military
service were required.) The
rulemaking also updates the list of
commissions from which the
college or university must have
obtained its accreditation.

Questions/requests for copies:
Daniel Dykstra, SPMB, 531
Sangamon Ave. East, Springfield
IL 62702, fax 217/786-0181,
ddykstra@ispmeritboard.org

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

The WORKERS’ COMPEN-
SATION COMMISSION adopted
an amendment to the Part titled
Miscellaneous (50 IAC 9110; 43 Ill
Reg 9945), effective 1/24/20,
implementing Public Act 100-
1117, which sets standards for
necessary data to be included in
a payor’s explanation of benefits
explaining the basis for denial of a
medical bill. The rulemaking
defines what documents meet the
criteria for an explanation of
benefits in this situation and list the
data elements that must be
included. It also allows employers
or payers and health care
providers to exchange data in non-
prescribed formats by mutual
agreement and prohibits any party
from rejecting a paper or

Human Services. Physician
assistants are also granted
authority to prescribe Schedule II
through V controlled substances if
this authority is granted by a
hospital aff iliate on the
recommendation of the
appropriate physician committee.
Examples of unprofessional
conduct subject to discipline under
the Act have been added (e.g.,
failure to conform to standards of
practice, violating professional
boundaries), requirements for
continuing education have been
updated, and national guidelines
for use of opioid analgesics
promulgated by the Federation of
State Medical Boards have been
incorporated. Since 1st Notice,
DFPR has required that a copy of
prescriptive authority guidelines
for physician assistants be made
available upon request (originally,
that it be kept at every location
where a physician assistant
practices).  Physician assistants
and their employers are affected
by this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Craig Cellini, DFPR, 320 W.
Washington St. 3rd Fl., Springfield
IL 62786, 217/785-0813, fax 217/
557-4451.

STATE  POLICE

The STATE POLICE MERIT
BOARD adopted an amendment
to Procedures of the Department
of State Police Merit Board (80
IAC 150; 43 Ill Reg 12971)
effective 1/24/20, implementing
Public Act 101-374 and replacing

electronic transaction on the
grounds that it contains data
beyond that required for a
complete bill. Health insurance
companies are affected by this
rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Cole D. Garrett, WCC, 100 W.
Randolph St., Suite 8-200,
Chicago IL 60601,
IWCC.Rules@illinois.gov

HOSPITALS

The DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY
SERVICES adopted an
amendment to Hospital Services
(89 IAC 148; 43 Ill Reg 9318),
effective 1/22/20, replacing an
emergency amendment effective
8/26/19. The rulemaking
implements PA 100-1181, which
was effective 3/9/19, by providing
a 23% increase in the statewide
standardized outpatient services
rate for critical access hospitals
(located in rural areas, with no
other hospital within 35 miles) for
dates of service on and after 7/1/
18. It also provides a one-time
supplemental payment to Illinois
critical access hospitals to
compensate for the difference
between the rate that was in effect
as of 7/1/18 and the higher rate
that took effect on 3/9/19.

Questions/requests for copies:
Steffanie Garrett, HFS, 201 S.
Grand Ave. East, 3 rd Fl.,
Springfield IL 62763-0002,
HFS.Rules@illinois.gov
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Proposed Rulemakings
(cont. from page 1)

(cont.  page 4)

Peremptory Rule— pawnshops that acquire
firearms only for bailment; and
— persons/entities engaging only
in transactions not subject to a
State or federal background
check.
A “principal objective of livelihood
and profit” means that the person
engages in the sale/transfer of
firearms as an income-generating
business. It does not include
persons whose primary objective
is to improve or liquidate a
personal collection, nor does it
include persons who regularly
purchase and dispose of firearms
for criminal purposes.

Applications
Every FFL licensee shall file with
ISP a copy of its FFL, along with a
sworn affidavit indicating that the
license is currently valid and
belongs to the licensee. This State
certification must be renewed
every 3 years when the FFL is
renewed. ISP may, in lieu of
requiring an affidavit, verify the
validity of an FFL via any
authentication system or website
approved by the federal Bureau of
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and
Explosives (ATF). Applicants for
certification must also submit an
affidavit listing the name and
Firearm Owner’s Identification
Card (FOID) number of each
owner, employee, or other agent
who sells or transfers firearms for
the licensee and attesting that
each of these persons is at least
21 years old, holds a currently valid
FOID card and (if a certification is
being renewed) has completed the
training required by the Firearm
Dealer License Certification Act.

Fees
For FFL licensees without a retail
location, the application fee is
$300 for initial certification and
$100 for a renewal certification.
For licensees with retail locations,
the application fee is $1,200 for
initial certification and $500 for
renewal. Total fees for certification
of multiple licenses (e.g., retail
stores at different locations)
cannot exceed $40,000. Initial
certif ication fees for new
applicants who held current FFL
licenses as of 1/18/19 shall be
prorated based on the number of
months remaining on the
applicant’s current FFL.
Overpayments will be credited
toward the cost of the licensee’s
next renewal, or may be refunded
to the licensee upon written
request.

Inspections
All certified licensees (CLs) shall
allow inspection of their place of
business by ISP and other law
enforcement agencies during all
hours of operation when firearms
are sold, leased or transferred. All

records, documents and firearms
shall be made accessible upon
request of ISP or the LE agency.
No more than one unannounced
inspection may be conducted per
year without good cause. A CL that
is not open to the public, does not
keep regular business hours or
operates by appointment only shall
advise ISP in writing of its hours of
operation.

Investigations
ISP may initiate an investigation
into a licensee when requested by
a local, State or federal law
enforcement agency or prompted
by a citizen complaint submitted
through ISP’s website. Licensees
must respond within 24 hours to
any request for information made
by ISP to determine the disposition
of one or more firearms as part of
a criminal investigation. Certified
licensees may continue to operate
during the course of an
investigation or hearing unless the
ISP Director determines that the

STATE  EMPLOYEES

The DEPARTMENT OF
CENTRAL MANAGEMENT
SERVICES adopted a peremptory
amendment to Pay Plan (80 IAC
310; 44 Ill Reg 2588) effective 1/
17/20, implementing a collective
bargaining agreement with the
International Brotherhood of
Boilermakers. The peremptory rule
updates pay rates (based on

regional prevailing wages) for
boiler safety specialists and boiler
safety audit specialists employed
by the Office of the State Fire
Marshal in the Central and
Southern regions effective 1/1/20.

Questions/requests for copies:
Lisa Fendrich, CMS, 504 Stratton
Bldg., Springfield IL 62706, 217/
782-7976, fax 217/524-4570,
CMS.PayPlan@illinois.gov
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Adopted Rules

(cont.  page 5)

public interest, safety or welfare
requires emergency action.

Security
No later than 1/2/20, CLs that
maintain an inventory of firearms
for sale or transfer must be
connected to an alarm system or
service that notifies local law
enforcement of any unauthorized
intrusion. This system must include

RADIOLOGY

The ILLINOIS EMERGENCY
MANAGEMENT AGENCY
adopted amendments to the Part
titled Accrediting Persons in the
Practice of Medical Radiation
Technology (32 IAC 401; 43 Ill Reg
12939), effective 1/22/20,
updating various definitions,
references and procedures to
conform to current law and
practice. References to the
Radiologic Technologist
Accreditation Advisory Board
(abolished by statute) are removed
and the list of approved programs
for accreditation is updated.
Organizations currently recognized
as continuing education providers
will be listed on IEMA’s website
(instead of in rule) and the process
of obtaining accreditation as a
radiologist assistant or nuclear
medicine advanced associate is
updated. Failure to repay
educational loans guaranteed by
the Illinois Student Assistance
Commission is removed as a
grounds for suspension,

revocation or denial or
accreditation. With regard to
applicants convicted of felonies,
juvenile convictions shall not be
considered; for adult convictions,
IEMA must consider evidence of
rehabilitation and mitigating
factors before deciding that a
conviction will disqualify the
applicant. The examination fee for
limited diagnostic radiography
accreditation is increased from
$125 to $140. Those affected by
this rulemaking include
radiologists, nuclear medicine
technicians, and their employers.

Questions/requests for copies:
Traci Burton, IEMA, 1035 Outer
Park Dr., Springfield IL 62704,
217/785-9860.

COUNTY FAIRS

The DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE adopted an
amendment to the Part titled Fairs
Operating Under the Agricultural
Fair Act (8 IAC 260; 43 Ill Reg
11800), effective 1/27/20, that
requires county fairs to submit their
annual grand summary reports of

fair receipts, premiums and prizes
awarded by 12/31. Fairs whose
grand summary reports are not
postmarked by that date will not be
eligible to receive premium
reimbursements for that year.
County fairs and fair organizations
are affected by this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Albert A. Coll, DOA, State
Fairgrounds, PO Box 19281,
Springfield IL 62794-9281, 217/
782-5051.

INSURANCE

The DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE adopted an
amendment to Accident and
Health Reserves (50 IAC 2004; 43
Ill Reg 12066), effective 1/21/20,
updating the incorporated National
Association of Insurance
Commissioners Valuation Manual
to the 2019 edition.

Questions/requests for copies:
Eric Anderson, DOI, 320 W.
Washington St., 4th Fl., Springfield
IL 62767-0002, 217/782-6284.

Proposed Rulemakings
(cont. from page 3) features such as duress/holdup

silent alarms and backup electrical
power. By 1/2/21, all CLs
operating retail locations must
have a video surveillance system
in place. This system must monitor
all entrances and exits and any
inside areas where firearms are
stored, handled, sold or
transferred. Video surveillance
records and sound recordings
obtained from them must be
retained for at least 90 days.

Records
CLs operating retail locations on
or after 1/2/20 must use electronic-
based recordkeeping for all
acquisition and disposition
records currently required by
federal law. The recordkeeping
system must be searchable by the
name of the purchaser,
manufacturer or importer; the
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address of the purchaser; the
serial number of the firearm; the
acquisition date of the firearm; or
the ATF transaction serial number.
This system must also track any
corrections or amendments to
original entries and must be stored
on a server or physical storage
device that belongs to the
licensee, or at a host facility (e.g.,
cloud storage or remote server)
based in the U.S. and subject to
U.S. legal processes. Retail sales
and purchases must be recorded
within 24 hours after the
transaction. Shipments from
manufacturers or wholesalers must
be recorded within 24 hours after
unpacking or 5 business days after
shipping, whichever is earlier.
Inventory, acquisition and
disposition records must be made
available to ISP or local law
enforcement upon request. An
alternate method of recordkeeping
may be used with ISP approval if
good cause is shown and the
records can be clearly uploaded in
a PDF format.

Storage
CLs with retail locations must
develop and submit to ISP (using
a form and method provided on the
Department’s website) their
written plans for safe storage of
firearms and ammunition during
retail hours, after closing, and in the
event of a disaster. All inventoried
firearms must be kept in a secure
gun storage or safety device (e.g.,
safe, vault, secured room or locked
display) and in a location
accessible only to specifically
authorized personnel. Alll keys,

lock combinations, passwords or
other security measures must be
accessible only to specifically
authorized personnel and
ammunition must be stored
securely out of the reach of
customers. Any loss, theft or
diversion of inventoried firearms
from a retail location must be
reported to ATF and local law
enforcement within 48 hours and
a copy of the notification must also
be submitted to ISP.

Signage
Each location where a CL
conducts business must post two
signs (templates are provided in
the rule and at ISP’s website). One
sign must notify patrons that the
premises are under video
surveillance and that their images
may be recorded. The other sign
must advise patrons that storing or
leaving unsecured firearms where
children can access them, selling
or transferring f irearms to
someone else without receiving
approval from ISP, and failing to
report the loss or theft of a firearm
to local law enforcement within 72
hours are unlawful.

Training
Every CL and employees who sell
or transfer firearms must complete
ISP-approved training (at a
minimum, covering materials
made available via the ISP
website or other means) prior to
certif ication and annually
thereafter. Newly hired employees
must complete this training before
selling or transferring any firearms
or ammunition. The CL must
submit an affidavit to ISP verifying
that the licensee and any

applicable employees have
completed this training.

Penalties and Appeals
Disciplinary actions for any
violation of the Act or this Part may
include suspension or revocation
of license certification, refusal to
renew or restore a certification, or
a reprimand. Additionally, a fine
may be imposed based on the
seriousness and frequency of the
violation. Fines range from a
maximum of $200 for a first-time
petty violation up to $10,000 per
offense for repeated major
violations. Procedures for notifying
CLs of violations and for CLs to
request hearings or appeals are
included in the Part. Those
affected by this rulemaking include
individuals and businesses
licensed to sell firearms and local
law enforcement entities.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments through 3/23/20:
Yvette C. Loizon, ISP, 801 S.
Seventh St., Suite 1000-S,
Springfield IL 62703, 217/782-
7658. Persons wishing to speak
at the Feb. 20 hearing must
submit their names and the
organizations they represent to
ISP.Rulemaking@illinois.gov in
advance of the hearing. One
member from each group may
speak for a maximum of 3
minutes.

JCAR MEMBERSHIP CHANGE

JCAR welcomes Sen. Bill
Cunningham,  D-Chicago, as its
new co-chair. He succeeds Sen.
Don  Harmon, D-Oak Park, re-
cently elected Senate President.
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The following rulemakings were moved to Second
Notice this week by the agencies listed below,
commencing the JCAR review period. These
rulemakings will be will be considered at the
February 18, 2020 JCAR meeting. Other items not
appearing in the Illinois Register or The Flinn
Report may also be considered. Further comments
concerning these rulemakings should be
addressed to JCAR using the contact information
on page 1.

CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER FOR
HIGHER EDUCATION

Chief Procurement Officer for Public Institutions of
Higher Education Standard Procurement (44 IAC
4; 43 Ill Reg 13841) proposed 12/6/19

DEPT OF INSURANCE

General Provisions (50 IAC 2500; 43 Ill Reg
13494) proposed 12/2/19

Fees and Charges (Repealer) (50 IAC 2505; 43 Ill
Reg 13517) proposed 12/2/19

Annual Privilege Tax (Repealer) (50 IAC 2510; 43
Ill Reg 13530) proposed 12/2/19

Annual Retaliatory Tax (Repealer) (50 IAC 2515;
43 Ill Reg 13575) proposed 12/2/19

Second Notices
Annual State Fire Marshal Tax (Repealer) (50 IAC
2520; 43 Ill Reg 13607) proposed 12/2/19

Overpayments, Refunds, Amendments and
Penalties (Repealer) (50 IAC 2525; 43 Ill Reg
13618) proposed 12/2/19

DEPT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL
REGULATION

Wholesale Drug Distribution Licensing Act (68 IAC
1510; 43 Ill Reg 13160) proposed 11/15/19

DEPT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY
SERVICES

Medical Payment (89 IAC 140; 43 Ill Reg 12000)
proposed 10/25/19

DEPT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Sport Fishing Regulations for the Waters of Illinois
(17 IAC 810; 43 Ill Reg 13935) proposed 12/2/19

Commercial Fishing and Musseling in Certain
Waters of the State (17 IAC 830; 43 Ill Reg 14050)
proposed 12/6/19

Commercial Fishing in Lake Michigan (17 IAC 850;
43 Ill Reg 14060) proposed 12/6/19

Senator Bill Cunningham, co-chair
Senator Kimberly Lightford
Senator Tony Muñoz
Senator Sue Rezin
Senator Paul Schimpf
Senator Chuck Weaver

Representative Tom Demmer
Representative Michael Halpin
Representative Frances Ann Hurley
Representative Steven Reick
Representative André Thapedi
Representative Keith Wheeler, co-chair

Joint Committee on Administrative Rules

Vicki Thomas
Executive Director


