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NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:  Rules adopted by agencies this week.  EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES: Adopted for a temporary period not to exceed 150 days.
PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:  Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a 45-day First Notice period during which public comments must be accepted.
PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules  adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.
Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-profit corporations.  Agencies are required to consider comments
from these groups and minimize the regulatory burden on them.
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS:  Submit mail, email or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:  Available on the Secretary of State (www.cyberdriveillinois.com)  and General Assembly (www.ilga.gov) websites under Illinois Register. Second
Notice text (original version with changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is available on the JCAR website.
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AIM HIGH SCHOLARSHIPS

The ILLINOIS STUDENT
ASSISTANCE COMMISSION
adopted a new Part by
emergency rulemaking titled AIM
HIGH Grant Pilot Program (23 IAC
2766; 42 Ill Reg 17265) effective
9/13/18 for a maximum of 150
days. An identical proposed
rulemaking appears in this
week’s Illinois Register at 42 Ill
Reg 17233. The rulemakings
implement Public Act 100-587 by
outlining the process for State
universities and students to
participate in the grant program,
which is designed to retain
Illinois resident students by
providing merit-based and
means-tested scholarships to
Illinois public universities. In
order to qualify for AIM HIGH
funds in an academic year, a
university must provide at least
the same amount of non-loan
financial aid to Illinois resident
undergraduate students that

The DEPARTMENT OF
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
proposed amendments to the
following Parts: Claims,
Adjudication, Appeals and
Hearings (56 IAC 2720; 42 Ill Reg
16965), Administrative Hearings
and Appeals (56 IAC 2725; 42 Ill
Reg 16978), Employment (56 IAC
2732; 42 Ill Reg 17002), Notices,
Records, Reports (56 IAC 2760;
42 Ill Reg 17008), Payment of
Unemployment Contributions,
Interest and Penalties (56 IAC
2765; 42 Ill Reg 17028),
Collection of Unemployment
Contributions (56 IAC 2790; 42 Ill
Reg 17048), and Payment of
Benefits (56 IAC 2830; 42 Ill Reg
17052), updating various
aspects of unemployment
insurance claims and
processing. The Part 2720
rulemaking establishes that the

 UNEMPLOYMENT CLAIMSyear as it did in fiscal year 2018.
Universities must also equally
match AIM HIGH funds with their
own funds to cover tuition, fees
and other necessary costs for
qualifying students. If a university
fails to meet either of these criteria,
ISAC may reduce or eliminate its
AIM HIGH funds, but must also
take into account circumstances
that may have contributed to the
failure (e.g., reductions in State
appropriations to the campus, the
number of scholarships that were
offered but not accepted). To
qualify for AIM HIGH
scholarships, students must be
Illinois residents, enrolled full-
time at a participating public
university, and have attended an
Illinois high school; apply for
federal student aid and have a
household income no more than
6 times the Federal Poverty Level
(e.g., $150,600 for a family of 4);
attain the minimum required
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grade point average, ACT or SAT
score required by the university;
not be in default on any student
loan or owe a repayment on a
State or federal grant or
scholarship; not be incarcerated;
and meet any other reasonable
criteria set by the university.
Students who qualify for renewal
awards must receive at least the
same scholarship amount they
received in their first year of
attendance, unless they reduce
their credit hours (while
remaining full-time) or switch to
a course of study with a lower
tuition rate. Those affected by this
emergency rule include State
universities and Illinois students
who may qualify for scholarships.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on the proposed
rulemaking through 11/13/18:
Lynn Hynes, ISAC, 1755 Lake
Cook Rd., Deerfield IL 60015, 847/

948-8500, ext. 18032,
lynn.hynes@illinois.gov

USE  TAX

The DEPARTMENT OF
REVENUE adopted an
emergency amendment to Use
Tax (86 IAC 150; 42 Ill Reg 17247)
effective 9/11/18 for a maximum
of 150 days. The emergency rule
implements a provision of Public
Act 100-587 (FY 2019 Budget
Implementation) that expands
the definition of nexus which
requires out of State (remote)
retailers to collect and pay use
tax on sales to Illinois purchasers.
Effective 10/1/18, a remote
retailer that does not have a
physical presence in Illinois
becomes subject to use tax if,
within the previous 12 months, its
cumulative gross receipts from
sales to Illinois purchasers total
at least $100,000 or if it has
conducted 200 or more separate
sales transactions with Illinois

purchasers. Remote retailers
without a physical presence in
Illinois must determine on a
quarterly basis whether they have
met either of these criteria within
the previous 12 months; if they
have, they must collect and remit
Illinois use tax for the following
year. The emergency rule also
includes criteria and examples
for determining the applicability
of the new nexus rules (known as
“Wayfair nexus” after the U.S.
Supreme Court decision South
Dakota vs. Wayfair, which upheld
this method of determining
nexus). Those affected by this
rulemaking include remote
retailers who sell to Illinois
customers and individuals and
businesses that make purchases
from these retailers.

Questions/requests for copies:
Jerilynn Troxell Gorden, DOR, 101
W. Jefferson St., MC 5-500,
Springfield IL 62794, 217/782-
2844.

address provided by a claimant
on his or her most recent
unemployment claim application
is the claimant’s last known
address until the claimant
directly informs DES of a change
of address by phone, in person
or online. It also requires
unemployment claim forms and
employer notices for posting in
the workplace to be available for
download at the DES website.

DISCRIMINATION  CASES

The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RIGHTS adopted amendments
to the Part titled Procedures of the
Illinois Department of Human
Rights (56 IAC 2520; 42 Ill Reg
8725), effective 9/17/18,
implementing Public Act 100-
492. For cases filed prior to 9/8/
17, the respondent (person or
entity accused of discrimination)
must file a response to the
allegations; for cases filed on or
after that date, DHR may or may
not require a response based on
various circumstances listed in

New Rules
the rule. A respondent may
choose to file a response even if
DHR does not require it. The
rulemaking also allows telefax or
electronic delivery for all required
documents (formerly, certain
documents could not be faxed).
Those affected by this
rulemaking may include
businesses with discrimination
cases being heard by DHR.

Questions/requests for copies:
Mary M. (Betsey) Madden, DHR,
100 W. Randolph St., Suite 10-100,
Chicago IL 60601, 312/814-3386,
TTY 866/740-3953.

(cont. from page 1)
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Amendments to Part 2725 explain
how employers are to report
changes of address; submit
documents and receive notices
electronically; sign documents
electronically; obtain needed
forms; request rate reviews; and
appeal a determination and
assessment. Amendments to
Part 2732 clarify the employer’s
right to request a transfer of
contributions and allow electronic
submission of tax-related
documents. The Part 2760
rulemaking replaces mailing
quarterly wage reports and
remittance forms to employers
with electronic downloading and
also permits employers to
electronically submit tax-related
documents. Amendments to Part
2765 allow amounts of $2
(currently $1) or less owed by an
employer for benefits paid to be
disregarded; clarifies how
employer payments will be
applied within a quarter; clarifies
situations involving employee
leasing companies, transfers of
business, and waivers of interest;
and clarifies time frames for
employers to submit documents
regarding tax and liability-related
issues. The Part 2790 rulemaking
also implements the $2
disregard and requires
employers to reimburse DES for
recording fees. Finally,
amendments to Part 2830 replace
instructions for mailing benefit
checks (which DES no longer
issues) with instructions for
mailing debit cards to claimants
who do not receive benefits by
direct deposit. The rulemaking
also addresses replacement of

electronic payments and
reissuance of debit cards that are
lost or stolen, procedures for
investigating potentially
fraudulent debit card or direct
deposit authorizations, and
payment of benefits to claimants
who have died or become
comatose.  Businesses, local
governments and non-profits that
participate in unemployment
insurance are affected by these
rulemakings.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on the 7 DES
rulemakings through 11/13/18:
Thomas D. Chan, DES, 33 S. State
St., Room 933, Chicago IL 60603,
312/793-2338, fax 312/793-5645,
Thomas.D.Chan@illinois.gov

MINIMUM  WAGE

The DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
proposed an amendment to the
Part titled Minimum Wage Law
(56 IAC 210; 42 Ill Reg 17091)
listing factors to be considered in
determining whether an
individual hired by an employer
is an employee subject to the
minimum wage law or an
independent contractor. These
include: whether the individual
could accept or reject specific
tasks, set his or her own work
schedule, or work for other
employers; whether the
individual was subject to
employee rules; and whether the
employer supervised
performance of the services the
individual provided. Other factors
to be considered include the
extent to which the individual’s
compensation was determined
by the employer and the

permanence of the relationship
between the employer and the
individual. Businesses that hire
independent contractors will be
affected by this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments through 11/13/18:
Andrew Proctor, DOL, 900 S.
Spring St., Springfield IL 62704,
217/558-1270

UNCLAIMED  PROPERTY

The OFFICE OF THE
TREASURER proposed repeal of
the Part titled Uniform Disposition
of Unclaimed Property Act (74
IAC 760; 42 Ill Reg 17121) and
proposed a new Part titled
Revised Uniform Disposition of
Unclaimed Property Act (74 IAC
760; 42 Ill Reg 17145). The new
Part implements the Revised
Uniform Unclaimed Property Act
(RUUPA), enacted in 2017 to
replace the former Uniform
Disposition of Unclaimed
Property Act.  RUUPA and the new
Part include more detailed
procedures and guidance on the
following issues: determining
when various properties,
including tax-deferred accounts,
stored value and gift cards,
merchandise credits and
securities, are considered
abandoned; actions that do, and
do not, rebut a statutory
presumption that a property is
abandoned; how to report and
remit unclaimed property to the
Treasurer; and methods the
Treasurer will use to locate and
notify apparent owners of
unclaimed property, including via

(cont. page 4)
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electronic publications. An
expedited claims process is
provided for claims of less than
$500. Other provisions address
unclaimed property
examinations, interest and
penalties, and exemption of
certain information from
disclosure under the Freedom of
Information Act. Those affected
by these rulemakings include
businesses, municipalities or
non-profits that have unclaimed
property.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on these rulemakings
through 11/13/18: Roxanne
Hollenstrine, Office of the Treasurer,
219 State House, Springfield IL
62706, 217/782-2211.

STATE  INVESTMENTS

The TREASURER also proposed
repeal of the Part titled Illinois
Public Treasurers’ Investment
Pool for Public Treasurers in the
State of Illinois (74 IAC 740; 42 Ill
Reg 17103) and proposed a new
Part with the same title (74 IAC
740; 42 Ill Reg 17109). The new
Part updates the process by
which State agencies and local

governments can utilize the
Illinois Public Treasurers’
Investment Pool (IPTIP) to invest
public funds. In comparison to
the existing Part, the new Part
more clearly outlines the
responsibilities of the Treasurer,
IPTIP’s investment policy,
information required for
enrollment in the pool, and the
responsibilities of the custodian
bank. Those affected by these
rulemakings include units of local
government that participate in
IPTIP.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on these rulemakings
through 11/13/18: Laura Duque,
Office of the Treasurer, 100 W.
Randolph St., Suite 15-600,
Chicago IL 60601, 312/814-3573,
fax 217/785-2777,
LDuque@illinoistreasurer.gov

PHARMACY  PAYMENTS

The DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY
SERVICES proposed an
amendment to Medical Payment
(89 IAC 140; 42 Ill Reg 17067)
implementing a provision of PA
100-587 that establishes Critical
Access Care Pharmacy (CAP)
payments for certain pharmacy

providers. Qualifying pharm-
acies must have an Illinois
location open to the public with
staff available to fill prescriptions,
in a county of fewer than 50,000
residents or a county designated
by the federal government as a
medically underserved area.
Additionally, the pharmacy’s
owners must have controlling
interest in fewer than 10
pharmacies and the majority of its
business cannot be by mail order.
CAP payments will be made
quarterly based on each
pharmacy’s CAP-eligible claims
billed to and paid by a Medicaid
Managed Care Organization and
for which a paid claim record can
be found in HFS’ electronic data
warehouse. The number of CAP-
eligible claims multiplied by the
lesser of the individual payment
amount or the HFS dispensing
fee as of 4/1/18 determines the
quarterly CAP payment to the
pharmacy. Pharmacies meeting
CAP program criteria are affected
by this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments through 11/13/18:
Christopher Gange, HFS, 201 S.
Grand Ave. East, 3rd Fl., Springfield
IL 62763-0002,
HFS.Rules@illlinois.gov

The following rulemaking was moved to Second Notice this week by the agency listed below,
commencing the JCAR review period. This rulemaking will be considered at the Committee’s October
16, 2018 meeting. Other items not published in the Illinois Register or The Flinn Report may also be
considered. Further comments concerning this rulemaking should be addressed to JCAR using
the contact information on page 1.

SECRETARY OF STATE

Issuance of Licenses (92 IAC 1030; 42 Ill Reg 14350) proposed 8/3/18

Second Notice


