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NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:NEW  RULES:  Rules adopted by agencies this week.  EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES:EMERGENCY RULES: Adopted for a temporary period not to exceed 150 days.
PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:PROPOSED  RULES:  Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a 45-day First Notice period during which public comments must be accepted.
PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules  adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.
Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-profit corporations.  Agencies are required to consider comments
from these groups and minimize the regulatory burden on them.
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: QUESTIONS/COMMENTS:  Submit mail, email or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:RULE TEXT:  Available on the Secretary of State (www.cyberdriveillinois.com)  and General Assembly (www.ilga.gov) websites under Illinois Register. Second
Notice text (original version with changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is available on the JCAR website.
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 CO DETECTORS/ALARMS

The OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE
MARSHAL adopted a new Part
titled Carbon Monoxide Alarms
and Detectors (41 IAC 112; 40 Ill
Reg 5165), effective 7/29/16,
implementing Public Act 99-470,
effective 1/1/16, which requires
public schools to be equipped
with carbon monoxide (CO)
alarms or detectors and directs
OSFM to establish guidelines for
approved CO alarms and
detectors in schools and multi-
unit dwellings. The new Part
incorporates by reference current
National Fire Protection
Association and Underwriters
Laboratories standards for CO
alarms and detectors, and
specifies which NFPA or UL
standards must be met by CO
devices (including combined
CO/smoke detectors) used in
schools or multi-unit dwellings.
Public school buildings
designed on or after 1/1/16 must

MEDICAL CANNABIS

The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
HEALTH adopted emergency
amendments to Compassionate
Use of Medical Cannabis Patient
Registry (77 IAC 946; 40 Ill Reg
10992) effective 8/1/16 for a
maximum of 150 days. An
identical permanent rulemaking
appears in this week’s Illinois
Register at 40 Ill Reg 10751.
These rulemakings implement
Public Act 99-519, effective 6/30/
16. The emergency and
proposed rules add Post
Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
and terminal illnesses for which
the patient’s life expectancy is 6
months or less to the list of
debilitating conditions for which
patients may use medical
cannabis. Also, the period for
which a DPH medical cannabis
patient or caregiver registry card
is valid has been extended from

have CO alarms permanently
wired into the building’s electrical
system and monitored by the fire
alarm system. CO detection
systems for schools must include
automatic occupant notification
throughout the building, or else
transmit a signal to a constantly
attended location on or off the
premises where response action
can be taken. Signals transmitted
from a CO detector to a fire alarm
system also must not be the
same as fire alarm signals. Local
school districts and owners of
multi-unit apartments or other
dwellings are affected by this
rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Deborah J. Williams, OSFM, 1035
Stevenson Dr., Springfield IL
62703-4259, 217/785-0978.
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DAY CARE HOMES

The DEPARTMENT OF
CHILDREN AND FAMILY
SERVICES adopted
amendments to Licensing
Standards for Day Care Homes
(89 IAC 406; 39 Ill Reg 10500)
and Licensing Standards for
Group Day Care Homes (89 IAC
408; 39 Ill Reg 10540), both
effective 7/29/16, implementing
recent Public Acts and other
changes. Both rulemakings
require licensed day care homes
to post “no firearms” signs in
accordance with the Firearm
Concealed Carry Act. The Part
406 rulemaking also prohibits
caregivers from working outside
the home during the hours that the
day care home is licensed to
operate (formerly, during hours
that children are present). Other
provisions in both rulemakings
require emergency prepared-
ness plans to include procedures
for notifying parents and reuniting
them with their children in case
of an evacuation, and to include
procedures for evacuating
children at or below 30 months
of age and special needs
children. Day care staff licensed
to care for infants must also
undergo training regarding
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome
(SIDS), Sudden Unexplained
Infant Death (SUID), safe sleep,
and Shaken Baby Syndrome
when their licenses are renewed
every 3 years, as well as prior to
initial licensure. Finally, a college
or vocational school diploma
may be accepted in place of a
high school diploma for day care

staff required to hold at least a
high school diploma. Since 1st

Notice, in response to public
comment, DCFS has removed a
proposed prohibition on the use
of home swimming pools during
day care hours. Day care home
owners and operators are
affected by these rulemakings.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 2 DCFS rulemakings: Jeff
Osowski, DCFS, 406 E. Monroe St.,
Station #65, Springfield IL 62701-
1498, 217/524-1983, TDD: 217/
524-3715, fax 217/557-0692, e-
mail: CFPolicy@idcfs.state.il.us

 LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

The ILLINOIS LABOR
RELATIONS BOARD adopted
amendments to General
Procedures (80 IAC 1200; 40 Ill
Reg 2414), effective 8/1/16,
updating its rules to comply with
the Open Meetings Act. The
Board is also updating its
requirements to allow for e-mail
submissions. Motions filed
during a hearing must be filed
with the Executive Director. Rules
for briefs are also updated to
include post-hearing and amicus
curiae briefs. Since 1st Notice,
ILRB has extended from 30 to 45
days the timeframe for the
General Counsel to issue a
declaratory ruling (originally,
timeframes for declaratory rulings
were to be eliminated).
Individuals and bargaining units
who may have a case pending
before the Board may be
interested in this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Sarah Kerley, ILRB, One Natural
Resources Way, 1st Fl., Springfield
IL 62702, 217/785-3155,
Sarah.R.Kerley@illinois.gov.

INCOME TAX

The DEPARTMENT OF
REVENUE adopted amend-
ments to Income Tax (86 IAC 100;
40 Ill Reg 5823) effective 7/29/16.
The amendments allow DOR to
make adjustments to liability
outside the statute of limitations
period for purposes of issuing a
notice of deficiency pursuant to
recent case law and statute.  In
instances involving omission of
more than 25% of base income,
no return or fraudulent return
filed, failure to report federal
change, report of federal change,
transferee liability, and net
losses, the statute of limitations
period is some period other than
the standard three year period.
The rulemaking further affects the
limitations on claims for refund
based in part on statute and case
law.  It also aligns with federal
provisions rules regarding
periods of limitations suspended
while a taxpayer is unable to
manage financial affairs due to
disability.

TOBACCO TAXES

DOR also adopted amendments
to Tobacco Products Tax Act of
1995 (86 IAC 660; 40 Ill Reg
2156), effective 7/29/15,
implementing provisions of
Public Acts 97-688, 98-273 and

(cont.  page 3)
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1 to 3 years, with fees increasing
from $100 to $300 for patient
cards and from $25 to $75 for
caregiver cards. Persons who
already have 1-year cards in
effect as of 7/31/16 may extend
them for 2 additional years by
paying the difference between
the 1-year and 3-year fees. DPH
has also removed the
requirement that the patient’s
physician certify the “therapeutic
or palliative benefit” of medical
cannabis; now, the physician
need only confirm that the patient
has a qualifying debilitating
condition. All fees and
fingerprinting requirements will
be waived for terminally ill
patients applying for inclusion in
the DPH medical cannabis
patient registry. The rulemakings
also restructure the process of
adding or removing qualifying
conditions and add new options
for documents proving a patient’s
Illinois residency. Medical
cannabis patients and caregivers

and their physicians are affected
by these rulemakings.

PERINATAL CODE

DPH also proposed
amendments to Regionalized
Perinatal Health Care Code (77
IAC 640; 40 Ill Reg 10728) to
clarify the resource, personnel
and competence assessment
requirements of the Code. The
rulemaking provides for Perinatal
Advisory Committee (PAC)
members to participate remotely
in hospital designation and
redesignation site visits and
clarifies the number of members
required to participate in a
hospital designation or
redesignation site visit.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on the 2 proposed DPH
rulemakings through 9/26/16:
Elizabeth Paton, DPH, 535 W.
Jefferson St., 5th Flr., Springfield IL,
62761, 217/782-2043, e-mail:
dph.rules@illinois.gov.

DRIVER’S  LICENSES

The SECRETARY OF STATE
proposed amendments to
Issuance of Licenses (92 IAC
1030; 40 Ill Reg 10754)
streamlining the documentation
that non-visa Temporary Visitors
Driver’s License (TVDL) holders
must present when requesting a
renewal, duplicate or corrected
TVDL. Requesters must show a
document with the requester’s
signature and one of the
following: proof of date of birth,
social security number, or proof
of residency (currently, proof of
date of birth, current address and
at least 1 year Illinois residency
are all required).  When
requesting an address change,
two documents proving
residency are required.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments through 9/26/16:
Jennifer Egizzi, SOS-Driver
Services, 2701 S. Dirksen
Parkway, Springfield IL 62723,
217/557-4462.

98-1055.  The amendments add
a definition of moist snuff and
reflect a change in the manner it
is taxed from a percentage basis
to a weight-based approach;
increase the rate of tax on other
tobacco products from 18% to
36%; tax packages of 20-25 little
cigars as cigarettes; require
retailers of tobacco products to
obtain a retailer’s license; and
require stamping distributors to

affix stamps on packages of little
cigars in the same way cigarettes
are stamped. The rulemaking
also modifies returns and
documentation for distributors
collecting taxes on moist snuff
and little cigars; requires
electronic filing of certain
documents; adds new
recordkeeping requirements;
explains restrictions on purchase,
sale and possession of tobacco
products; reflects changes to
conditions for making exempt

sales; explains claims made
under retailers’ provisions;
addresses credits for stamps
damaged, unused, destroyed or
affixed to packages of little cigars
returned to the manufacturer;
prescribes statutory penalties,
interest and procedures; and
adds various definitions. Since 1st

Notice, DOR has added several
items to the list of information a
license applicant must supply to

New Rules

(cont.  page 4)
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The following rulemaking was moved to Second Notice this week by the agency listed below,
commencing the JCAR review period. This rulemaking will be considered at the Committee’s
September 6, 2016 meeting. Other items not published in the Illinois Register or The Flinn Report
may also be considered. Further comments concerning this rulemaking should be addressed to
JCAR using the contact information on page 1.

SECRETARY OF STATE

Secretary of State Standard Procurement (44 IAC 2000; 40 Ill Reg 7043) proposed 5/6/16

Second Notices

the Department. Tobacco
products retailers, distributors
and manufactures may be
affected.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 2 DOR rulemakings: Part 100,
Brian Stocker; Part 660, Richard
Wolters; DOR Legal Services, 101
W. Jefferson St, Springfield IL
62794, 217/ 782-2844.

 ENTERPRISE ZONES

The DEPARTMENT OF
COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC
OPPORTUNITY adopted
amendments to Enterprise Zones
and High Impact Business
Programs (14 IAC 520; 40 Ill Reg
6627) effective 7/29/16.  The

amendments make technical
revisions to more accurately
reflect scoring of Enterprise Zone
applications; allow successfully
reapplied zones that expired or
terminated solely by operation of
law to continue to be eligible for
exemptions for up to 5 years; and
prescribes provisions for
application/compliance for
enterprise zone benefits as a
certified aircraft maintenance
facility.

PROMOTION ACT

DCEO also adopted
amendments to Illinois Promotion
Act Programs (14 IAC 510; 40 Ill
Reg 6907) effective 7/29/16,
implementing Public Act 99-476,
creating the Municipal
Convention Center and Sports

Facility Incentive Grant Program.
The intent of the amendments
and the Act is to provide grants
to offer incentives for the purpose
of attracting conventions,
meetings and trade shows to
some municipal convention
centers and attracting sporting
events to municipal amateur
sports facilities.  The
amendments details eligible
applicants, allocation of
appropriations, funding
limitations, annual certification
and certification supporting
documentation.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 2 DCEO rulemakings: Jolene
Clarke, DCEO, 500 E. Monroe,
Springfield IL 62701, 217/557-
1820, jolene.clarke@illinois.gov

New Rules
(cont. from page 3)

JCAR Meeting Action
At its 8/9/16 meeting, the Joint
Committee on Administrative
Rules took the following actions:

RECOMMENDATION

With regard to the Department of
Central Management Services’
rulemaking titled Extensions of
Jurisdiction (80 IAC 305; 40 Ill

Reg 5749, JCAR recommends
that the Department be more
timely in adopting rules
implementing Memoranda of
Understanding. The underlying
MOU that prompted this
rulemaking was dated 12/9/13;
CMS proposed this rulemaking
on 4/8/16.

FAILURE TO REMEDY

JCAR issued Notices of Failure to
Remedy Recommendations for
the Department of Natural
Resources rulemakings titled
Raccoon, Opossum, Striped
Skunk, Red Fox, Gray Fox,

(cont.  page 5)
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(cont. from page 4)

Coyote and Woodchuck
(Groundhog) Hunting (17 IAC
550; 40 Ill Reg 1413) and
Muskrat, Mink, Raccoon,
Opossum, Striped Skunk,
Weasel, Red Fox, Gray Fox,
Coyote, Badger, River Otter,
Beaver and Woodchuck
(Groundhog) Trapping (17 IAC
570; 40 Ill Reg 1430). JCAR had
issued Recommendations at its
5/10/16 meeting that DNR limit
the geographical area open to
bobcat hunting and trapping and
also limit the number of bobcat
trapping/hunting permits issued
under these rulemakings (which

JCAR Meeting Action
added provisions for bobcat
hunting and trapping to the
affected Parts). DNR declined to
modify these rulemakings and
adopted the proposed rules
without further change. JCAR
found that DNR had not
remedied its concerns.

EXTENSION

JCAR and the Department of
Agriculture agreed to extend the
Second Notice period an
additional 45 days for the
rulemaking titled Industrial Hemp
Pilot Program (8 IAC 1100; 40 Ill
Reg 5741).

Membership, Chair Changes

Senator Bill Brady

Senator Karen McConnaughay

Senator Matt Murphy

Senator Don Harmon

Senator Tony Muñoz

Senator Ira Silverstein

Representative Tom Demmer

Representative Greg Harris

Representative Lou Lang

Representative André Thapedi

Representative Michael Tryon

Representative Keith Wheeler

Vicki Thomas
Executive Director

JCAR welcomes newly
appointed Committee members
Rep. Tom Demmer, R-Dixon, and
Rep. Keith Wheeler, R-Oswego.
Current JCAR member Rep.
Mike Tryon, R-Crystal Lake, has
also been appointed co-
chairman, replacing former Rep.
Ron Sandack.


