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STATE EMPLOYEES

The DEPARTMENT OF CENTRAL MAN-
AGEMENT SERVICES adopted pe-
remptory amendments to "Pay Plan"
(80 Ill Adm Code 310; 37 Ill Reg
13762), effective 8/8/13, implement-
ing three bargaining unit agreements.
The peremptory rule implements new
3-year contracts with the Teamsters
(Downstate Illinois Employees Nego-
tiating Committee) and with Illinois
Federation of Public Employees Lo-
cals 4408 and 4409, all effective 7/1/
12 through 6/30/15. All contracts in-
clude general pay increases of 2%
effective 7/1/13 and 7/1/14. The Team-
sters contract includes a one-time
stipend, equal to 2.25% of base sal-
ary, for all persons employed on 6/1/
13; provisions for a "new hire" rate for
employees hired on or after 7/1/13,
set at 75% of full salary, increasing 5%
per year and reaching the full rate after
5 years; and provisions for additional
hourly pay and clothing allowances
for certain employees (e.g. highway
maintainers whose duties include
chemical spraying). The Local 4408
contract also includes the same 2.25%
stipend and in-hire rate provisions as
the Teamster contract. Finally, the

Local 4409 contract includes increases
in longevity pay for persons with 10 or
more years of service; implementa-
tion of new substeps (prior to Step 1)
for employees hired on or after 7/1/13;
and provisions for determining when
time spent traveling to and from work
sites is considered work time.

Questions/requests for copies: Jason
Doggett, DCMS, 720 Stratton Bldg.,
Springfield IL 62706, 217/782-7964, fax
217/524-4570, e-mail: CMS.PayPlan@
illinois.gov.

PUBLICATION  ERROR

The JOINT COMMITTEE ON ADMINIS-
TRATIVE RULES has issued a Notice
of Publication Error for the Office of
the Attorney General's adopted
rulemaking titled "Hospital Financial
Assistance Under the Fair Patient Bill-
ing Act" (77 Ill Adm Code 4500),
adopted at 37 Ill Reg 12356 in the 8/
2/13 Illinois Register. The page head-
ers for this rulemaking incorrectly iden-
tified the Department of Financial and
Professional Regulation as the
rulemaking agency. JCAR regrets this
error.

DAY CARE

The DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND
FAMILY SERVICES proposed amend-
ments to "Licensing Standards for Day
Care Centers" (89 Ill Adm Code 407;
37 Ill Reg 13608) that revise provi-
sions affecting child care, staff train-
ing and education, and facilities. The
rulemaking requires directors and staff
to complete DCFS' online training for
mandated reporters of known or sus-
pected child abuse within 60 days
after these rules take effect and within
30 days of initial hiring thereafter. Staff
at centers licensed to care for infants
must complete training in safe sleep
practices and prevention of Sudden
Infant Death Syndrome and Shaken
Baby Syndrome. Providers are re-
quired to offer children at least 2
occasions per day of age-appropriate
outdoor time (or active indoor play in
bad weather) and to prevent mobile
children from remaining sedentary for
more than ½ hour at a time outside of
scheduled rest or nap times. Passive
screen time (e.g., watching TV or vid-
eos) is prohibited for children younger
than 2, limited to no more than 1 hour
per day for children age 2 and older,
and prohibited during meal or snack
times. New nutrition rules include a
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prohibition on serving foods with high
sugar or fat content (e.g., cake, past-
ries, cookies) and on using trans fats
or saturated fats as butter substitutes.
Infants may not have bottles in their
cribs and older children may not carry
no-spill cups throughout the day or
night unless the cups contain only
plain water. Center directors must have
at least an associate degree with a
minimum of 21 semester hours in child
development or early childhood edu-
cation, along with additional training
in management, and a staff member
with the same or higher level of col-
lege education must be on site at all
times.  Initial licensing and renewal
requirements now include documen-
tation of radon testing within the last 3
years. Centers that use buses or other
vehicles requiring a school bus driv-
ing permit must provide at least $1
million in combined single limit liabil-
ity coverage per accident for each
vehicle. Centers must also provide
reasonable, private accommodations
for mothers who wish to breastfeed
their children during the center's hours
of operation and must notify parents
of these accommodations. Other pro-
visions concerning food and drink,
bedding, window coverings, storage,
and infant "tummy time" are also in-
cluded. Day care center owners, op-
erators and staff will be affected by
this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies/com-
ments through 10/7/13: Jeff Osowski,
DCFS, 406 E. Monroe St., Station #65,
Springfield IL 62701-1498, 217/524-
1983.

DENTISTRY

The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL
AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
proposed amendments to "Illinois
Dental Practice Act" (68 Ill Adm Code
122; 37 Ill Reg 13687) updating licen-
sure and continuing education (CE)
requirements for dentists, dental as-
sistants and dental hygenists. The
rulemaking establishes a $300 licens-
ing fee for dental hygenists licensed
outside Illinois to obtain in-State li-
censure and raises the restoration fee

for an inactive hygenists' license from
$20 to $50. The rulemaking also re-
peals an examination requirement for
dental specialists, who now need only
to file an application for specialist
licensing. Test scores from the Ameri-
can Board of Dental Examiners, Inc.
for dentists or dental hygienists will no
longer be accepted. Restricted fac-
ulty licenses will only be issued to
dentists who are currently licensed in
another jurisdiction. For persons wish-
ing to restore inactive licenses, 48 CE
hours within the preceding 3 years are
required; if the license has been inac-
tive for 5 years or more, certification in
Basic Life Support (BLS) for health
providers is also required. Proof of
BLS certification is required for li-
cense renewal and restoration for all
dentistry-related licenses. Specialists
wishing to restore inactive licenses
after 5 or more years on inactive sta-
tus must complete any additional train-
ing, testing, or remediation required
by the Illinois Board of Dentistry. Den-
tal hygienists and dental assistants
may perform amalgam fillings pro-
vided they meet specified training,
examination and supervision require-
ments. The rulemaking also adds a
new Section with rules for transferring
the practice of a dentist who has died
or become incapacitated to other
dentists. The executor or administra-
tor of the dentist's estate, or the
dentist's legal guardian, may contract
with another dentist to continue the
practice for no more than 1 year after
the death or incapacitation of the
original dentist. The executor, admin-
istrator or guardian must file an appli-
cation with DFPR that includes the
name and license number of the den-
tist, a signed affidavit, required fees,
the name and address of the practice,
identification information for the es-
tate, name and license number of the
dentists taking over, and a copy of a
death certificate (if applicable). All
patients must be notified by the ex-
ecutor, administrator or guardian
within 30 days of the death or inca-
pacitation of the dentist. The rule in-
cludes standards for determining
whether a dentist has become inca-
pacitated; affected dentists may ap-

peal a determination and all dentists
will remain in good standing until a
final determination is made. An inca-
pacitated dentist's license will be re-
stored if he/she requests it and sub-
mits a statement from a licensed phy-
sician verifying that the dentist is no
longer incapacitated. Other topics
addressed in this rulemaking include
monitoring of sedated patients and
permit requirements for administering
sedation. Dentists, dental hygienists,
dental assistants and continuing edu-
cation sponsors may be affected by
this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies/com-
ments through 10/7/13: Craig Cellini,
DFPR, 320 W. Washington, 3rd Floor,
Springfield IL 62786, 217/785-0813.

LABOR  RELATIONS

The ILLINOIS LABOR RELATIONS
BOARD proposed amendments to
"General Procedures" (80 Ill Adm Code
1200; 37 Ill Reg 13757). A new Section
allows board members to appear at
Board meetings via video or phone if
there is a quorum of members physi-
cally present, prior notice has been
given (if practical) and the member
has an illness or disability, is on Board
business, or has a family or other
emergency. The rulemaking also up-
dates the Board's Springfield address.

Questions/requests for copies/com-
ments through 10/7/13: Jerald Post,
ILRB, 160 N. La Salle St., Suite s-400,
Chicago IL 60601, 312/793-6400, e-mail:
Jerald.Post@illinois.gov.

RADIATION SAFETY

The ILLINOIS EMERGENCY MANAGE-
MENT AGENCY proposed amend-
ments to the Part titled "Fees for Ra-
dioactive Material Licenses" (32 Ill Adm
Code 331; 37 Ill Reg 13677) increas-
ing radioactive material license fees
to cover operating costs for security,
licensing and inspection programs.
The hourly rate for full cost recovery is
increased from $202 to $263. Increases
in the annual fees in most licensure
categories range from $50 to $5,802
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Proposed Regulations

per year, depending upon the type
and scale of the licensee's activity
(e.g., broad scope manufacturing,
research and development, medical/
veterinary). Increases in the remote
site fees in most categories range
from $97 to $2,316 annually. In some

cases a specified flat fee is replacing
a "full cost" fee charged by the hour.
General license fees are increasing by
$50. Those affected by this rulemaking
include businesses that handle or use
radioactive material and require a li-
cense.

Questions/requests for copies/com-
ments through 10/7/13: Traci Burton,
IEMA, 1035 Outer Park Dr., Springfield
IL 62704, 217/785-9860, TDD 217/782-
6133.

Second Notices
The following rulemakings were moved to Second Notice this week by the agencies listed below, commencing the JCAR
review period. These rulemakings will be considered at JCAR's September 17, 2013 meeting.

STATE  BOARD  OF  EDUCATION

"Special Education" (23 Ill Adm Code 226) proposed 4/14/13 (37 Ill Reg 4735)

"New Teacher Induction and Mentoring" (23 Ill Adm Code 65) proposed 5/31/13 (37
Ill Reg 7356)

"Standards for Certification in Specific Teaching Fields" (23 Ill Adm Code 27)
proposed 4/12/13 (37 Ill Reg 4710)

"Standards for Certification in Early Childhood Education and Elementary Education"
(23 Ill Adm Code 26) proposed 4/12/13 (37 Ill Reg 4705)

"Educator Licensure" (23 Ill Adm Code 25) proposed 4/12/13 (37 Ill Reg 4671)

"Standards for Endorsements in the Middle Grades" (23 Ill Adm Code 21) proposed
4/12/13 (37 Ill Reg 4633)

"Standards for Endorsements in Elementary Education" (23 Ill Adm Code 20)
proposed 4/12/13 (37 Ill Reg 4606)

"Standards for Endorsements in the Middle Grades" (23 Ill Adm Code 21) proposed
4/12/13 (37 Ill Reg 4633)

"Agricultural Education Program" (23 Ill Adm Code 75) proposed 5/31/13 (37 Ill Reg
7363)

"Calculation of Excess Cost under Section 18-3 of the School Code" (23 Ill Adm Code
140) proposed 5/31/13 (37 Ill Reg 7380)

"Illinois Hope and Opportunity Pathways through Education Program" (23 Ill Adm
Code 210) proposed 5/31/13 (37 Ill Reg 7385)

"Transitional Bilingual Education" (23 Ill Adm Code 228) proposed 5/31/13 (37 Ill Reg
7400)

DEPARTMENT  OF  NATURAL  RESOURCES

"Cock Pheasant, Hungarian Partridge, Bobwhite Quail, and Rabbit Hunting" (17 Ill
Adm Code 530) proposed 6/14/13 (37 Ill Reg 7892)

"Abandoned Mined Lands Reclamation" (62 Ill Adm Code 2501) proposed 6/14/13 (37
Ill. Reg. 7924)


