TITLE 89: SOCIAL SERVICES
CHAPTER III: DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER e: REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE
PART 408 LICENSING STANDARDS FOR GROUP DAY CARE HOMES
SECTION 408.60 ADMISSION AND DISCHARGE PROCEDURES
Section 408.60 Admission and Discharge Procedures
a) No child served in a day care facility shall remain on the premises for more than 12 hours in any 24-hour period unless the parent's employment schedule requires more than 12 hours of day care. Regardless of the parent's employment or training schedule, at no time shall children cared for in a day care facility remain on the premises for more than 18 consecutive hours.
b) Prior to acceptance of a child for care, the caregiver shall require that the parents or guardian accompany the child to the home to become acquainted with the caregiver and with the service to be provided.
c) No child under 6 years of age may be admitted to the group day care home unless the health examination, complete with lead risk assessment if the child resides in an area defined as low risk by the Illinois Department of Public Health, or a screening for lead poisoning if the child resides in an area defined as high risk by the Illinois Department of Public Health (see 77 Ill. Adm. Code 845 (Lead Poisoning Prevention Code)), has been completed as required by Department of Public Health rules at 77 Ill. Adm. Code 665 (Child Health Examination Code).
d) The caregiver shall require that the parent or guardian provide a certified copy of the child's birth certificate. The caregiver:
1) Shall provide a written notice to the parent or guardian of a child to be enrolled for the first time that within 30 days after enrollment the parent or guardian shall provide a certified copy of the child's birth certificate or other reliable proof of identity and age of the child.
A) The caregiver shall promptly make a copy of the certified copy and return the original certified copy to the parent or guardian.
B) If a certified copy of the birth certificate is not available, the parent or guardian must submit a passport, visa or other governmental documentation as proof of the child's identity and age and an affidavit or notarized letter explaining the inability to produce a certified copy of the birth certificate. [325 ILCS 50/5]
C) The notice to parent or guardian shall also indicate that the caregiver is required by law to notify the Illinois State Police or local law enforcement agency if the parent or guardian fails to submit proof of the child's identity within the 30 day time frame.
2) Shall notify the Illinois State Police or local law enforcement agency of the parent's failure to submit a certified copy of the child's birth certificate or other reliable proof of identity. The caregiver shall also notify the parent or guardian in writing that the Illinois State Police or local law enforcement has been notified as required by law and that the parent or guardian has 10 additional days to comply by submitting the required documentation. [325 ILCS 50/5]
3) Shall report to the Illinois State Police or local law enforcement agency any affidavit received which appears inaccurate or suspicious in form or content. [325 ILCS 50/5]
4) Shall flag the record of a child enrolled at the day care who is reported by the Illinois State Police as a missing person, and shall immediately report to the Illinois State Police any request concerning flagged records or knowledge as to the whereabouts of any missing child. [325 ILCS 50/5]
e) The parents or guardian shall be permitted to visit the home, without prior notice, during the hours their children are in care.
f) The caregivers shall conduct a daily, preadmissions screening to determine if the child has obvious symptoms of illness. If symptoms of illness are present, the caregiver shall determine whether or not to provide care for the child, depending upon the apparent degree of illness, other children present, and facilities available to provide care for the ill child in accordance with the requirements of Section 408.70.
g) Children with diarrhea and those with rash combined with fever (oral temperature of 100 degrees Fahrenheit or higher) shall not be admitted to the group day care home while these symptoms persist, and shall be removed as soon as possible should these symptoms develop while the child is in care.
h) A child shall be discharged from the facility only to the child's parents or guardian or to a person designated in writing by the parents or guardian to receive the child.
1) The caregiver shall refuse to release a child to any person, whether related or unrelated to the child, who has not been authorized, in writing, by the parents or guardian to receive the child.
2) Persons not known to the caregiver shall be required to provide a driver's license (with photo) or photo identification card issued by the Illinois Secretary of State to establish their identity prior to a child's release to them.
3) The facility shall maintain a list of persons designated, in writing, by the parents, or guardian to whom the facility can be expected to discharge the child at least once per week. These persons, in addition to the parents or guardian, shall constitute the primary list of persons to whom the child may be released.
4) In addition, the facility shall maintain a contingency list of persons designated, in writing, by the parents or guardian to whom the child may be released less frequently than once per week. When the child is released to a person on the contingency list, the facility shall maintain a record of the person to whom the child was released, the date and time that the child was released, and the manner that the child left the facility (whether on foot, by passenger car, by taxicab or other means of transportation).
i) Other discharge provisions of this Section notwithstanding, a child leaving the group day care home to attend school shall be released in accordance with the written authorization of the parents or guardian. Such authorization shall include the time that the child is to be released and the means of transportation the child is to use.
j) All group day care homes shall have a written policy that explains the actions the provider will take if a parent or guardian does not retrieve, or arrange to have someone retrieve, his or her child at the designated, agreed upon time. The policy shall consist of the provider's expectations, clearly presented to the parent or guardian in the form of a written agreement that shall be signed by the parent or guardian, and shall include at least the following elements:
1) The consequences of not picking up the children on time, including:
A) Amount of late fee, if any, and when those fees begin to accrue;
B) The degree of diligence the provider will use to reach emergency contacts, e.g., number of attempted phone calls to parents and emergency contacts, requests for police assistance in finding emergency contacts; and
C) Length of time the facility will keep the child beyond the pick-up time before contacting outside authorities, such as the child abuse hotline or police.
2) Emphasis on the importance of having up-to-date emergency contact numbers on file.
3) Acknowledgement of the provider's responsibility for the child's protection and well-being until the parent or outside authorities arrive.
4) A reminder to staff that the child is not responsible for the situation. All discussions regarding these situations shall be with the parent or guardian, never with the child.
k) The daily list of children in care shall be readily accessible in case of emergency evacuations and fire drills.
(Source: Amended at 43 Ill. Reg. 265, effective January 1, 2019)