TITLE 77: PUBLIC HEALTH
CHAPTER I: DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
SUBCHAPTER u: MISCELLANEOUS PROGRAMS AND SERVICES
PART 946 COMPASSIONATE USE OF MEDICAL CANNABIS PATIENT REGISTRY
SECTION 946.40 LIMITATIONS AND PENALTIES
Section 946.40 Limitations and Penalties
a) Any person engaging in the following conduct may be charged with civil, criminal or other penalties for:
F) in any public place. "Public place" as used in this subsection (a)(3)(F) means any place where an individual could reasonably be expected to be observed by others. A "public place" includes all parts of buildings owned in whole or in part, or leased, by the State or a local unit of government. A "public place" does not include a private residence unless the private residence is used to provide licensed child care, foster care, or other similar social service care on the premises. For purposes of this subsection (a)(3)(F), a "public place" does not include a health care facility. For purposes of this Section, a "health care facility" includes, but is not limited to, hospitals, nursing homes, hospice care centers, and long-term care facilities;
4) Smoking medical cannabis in any public place where an individual could reasonably be expected to be observed by others, in a health care facility, or any other place where smoking is prohibited under the Smoke Free Illinois Act;
5) Operating, navigating, or being in actual physical control of any motor vehicle, aircraft, or motorboat while using or under the influence of cannabis in violation of Sections 11-501 and 11-502.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code;
b) Nothing in the Act shall be construed to prevent the arrest or prosecution of a registered qualifying patient for reckless driving or driving under the influence of cannabis where probable cause exists.
c) Notwithstanding any other criminal penalties related to the unlawful possession of cannabis, knowingly making a misrepresentation to a law enforcement official of any fact or circumstance relating to the medical use of cannabis to avoid arrest or prosecution is a petty offense punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, which shall be in addition to any other penalties that may apply for making a false statement or for the use of cannabis other than use undertaken under the Act.
d) Notwithstanding any other criminal penalties related to the unlawful possession of cannabis, any person who makes a misrepresentation of a medical condition to a physician or fraudulently provides material misinformation to a physician in order to obtain a written certification is guilty of a petty offense punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.
f) Any registered qualifying patient who commits a violation of Section 11-502.1 of the Illinois Vehicle Code or refuses a properly requested test related to operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis shall have his or her registry identification card revoked.
g) No registered qualifying patient or designated caregiver shall knowingly obtain, seek to obtain, or possess, individually or collectively, an amount of usable cannabis from a registered medical cannabis dispensing organization that would cause him or her to exceed the authorized adequate supply under Section 10(a) of the Act.
i) Nothing in the Act shall prevent a university, college, or other institution of post-secondary education from restricting or prohibiting the use of medical cannabis on its property. (Section 30 of the Act)
j) Individuals who fail to comply with any of the following notification requirements (see Section 75(a) of the Act) shall be subject to a civil monetary penalty, pursuant to Section 75(d) of the Act. The civil monetary penalty, which may be assessed for each instance of non-compliance, is not to exceed $150 per instance.
1) A registered qualifying patient shall notify the Department of Public Health of any change in his or her name or address, or if the registered qualifying patient ceases to have his or her debilitating medical condition, within 10 days after the change or death.
2) A registered designated caregiver shall notify the Department of Public Health of any change in his or her name or address, or if the designated caregiver becomes aware the registered qualifying patient passed away, within 10 days after the change.
3) Before a registered qualifying patient changes his or her designated caregiver, the qualifying patient must notify the Department of Public Health.
4) If a cardholder loses his or her registry identification card, he or she shall notify the Department within 10 days after becoming aware the card has been lost. (Section 75(a) of the Act)
k) Any person, including an employee or official of the Department of Public Health, Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, or Department of Agriculture or another State agency or local government, is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor with a $1,000 fine for breaching the confidentiality of information obtained under the Act (Section 145(c) of the Act) and Sections 946.270 and 946.275 of this Part.
l) Any cardholder found to be in violation of the Act or this Part may have his or her registration suspended or revoked, pursuant to Section 185(a) of the Act and Sections 946.270 and 946.275 of this Part.
m) The Department of Public Health may with reasonable cause refer a physician, who has certified a debilitating medical condition of a patient, to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation for potential violations of Section 35 of the Act. (Section 35(c) of the Act)