TITLE 77: PUBLIC HEALTH
CHAPTER I: DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
SUBCHAPTER f: EMERGENCY SERVICES AND HIGHWAY SAFETY
PART 515 EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES, TRAUMA CENTER, COMPREHENSIVE STROKE CENTER, PRIMARY STROKE CENTER AND ACUTE STROKE READY HOSPITAL CODE
SECTION 515.715 PROVISIONAL LICENSURE FOR FIRST RESPONDERS AND EMERGENCY MEDICAL RESPONDERS
Section 515.715 Provisional Licensure for First Responders and Emergency Medical Responders
a) A person under the age of 18 shall not be issued a First Responder or Emergency Medical Responder license. A person between the ages of 16 and 18 who has successfully completed a Department approved First Responder or Emergency Medical Responder course may apply to the Department for a provisional First Responder or Emergency Medical Responder License. Upon satisfaction of all other applicable requirements, the Department shall issue a provisional license, subject to the following limitations:
1) A person with a provisional license shall not use his or her provisional license except when affiliated with a recognized Illinois EMS System and with the written authorization of that EMS System's Medical Director;
2) A provisional licensee shall not be placed in a position of primary response to emergencies by any licensee of the Department, unless the assignment satisfies all other provisions of this Part;
3) A provisional licensee shall function as a First Responder or Emergency Medical Responder only while under the direct, personal and continuous supervision of at least one other non-provisional EMS personnel licensed at or above the level of the provider's license. Nothing in this Part shall preclude a provisionally licensed First Responder or Emergency Medical Responder from providing Nationally Recognized Basic First Aid when not participating as part of the emergency medical response of his/her affiliated agency;
4) A provisional licensee shall not be involved in the transport of a patient unless he or she is under the direct, personal and continuous supervision of at least two other non-provisional EMS personnel licensed at or above the level of the transport provider's license. A provisional licensee shall not be used to satisfy the staffing requirements of this Part;
5) A provisional licensee shall not operate, drive or maneuver a Department licensed transport vehicle, rescue vehicle or non-transport agency owned vehicle in connection with an emergency response or the transportation of any patient; and
6) A provisional licensee may apply to the Department for full licensure upon turning 18 years of age as required in Section 515.725.
b) The EMS provider agency and the supervising licensee shall be jointly responsible for assuring that no provisional licensee violates rules applicable to the provisional licensee and shall jointly report, in writing, the nature and details of any violations of this Section to the EMS Medical Director within 48 hours after the occurrence. A failure to make written reports as required shall be grounds for disciplinary action as authorized by this Part.
c) Violation of provisions applicable to provisional licensees shall be grounds for any form of disciplinary action authorized by this Part, up to and including license suspension and revocation.
d) Applicants for Provisional First Responder shall verify compliance pursuant to Section 10-65(c) of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act and Section 515.620 of this Part on a form prescribed by the Department.
e) The Provisional First Responder license fee shall be the same fee schedule for First Responders/Emergency Medical Responders. The license fee shall be in effect for four years and include the opportunity to apply for upgrade to First Responder/Emergency Medical Responder licensure upon age 18.
(Source: Added at 37 Ill. Reg. 5714, effective April 15, 2013)