TITLE 68: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
CHAPTER VIII: DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
SUBCHAPTER b: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
PART 1450 REAL ESTATE LICENSE ACT OF 2000
SECTION 1450.450 BROKER CONTINUING EDUCATION
Section 1450.450 Broker Continuing Education
1) Pursuant to Section 5-70 of the Act, each broker, except as otherwise provided in Section 5-70(b), is required to complete 6 hours of continuing education (CE) for each year of the pre-renewal period in courses approved by the Advisory Council. Licensees who complete CE after the expiration of a license are eligible for approval of CE only upon payment of all fees required by this Part and completion of the necessary forms. In addition to the CE required in this subsection (a)(1), any broker filing a late renewal for the pre-renewal period ending April 30, 2010 must complete a 6 hour broker management continuing education course.
2) A renewal applicant is not required to complete CE requirements for the first renewal following original licensure if the initial license was issued less than 90 days prior to the expiration date.
3) Brokers licensed in Illinois but residing and practicing in other states shall comply with the CE requirements set forth in this Section, unless they are exempt pursuant to Section 5-70(b) of the Act.
4) The Division shall conduct random audits to verify compliance with this Section.
b) Approved Continuing Education
1) CE credit may be earned for verified attendance at or participation in a course offered by an approved CE school that meets the requirements set forth in Section 1450.1130.
2) CE credit may also be earned for completion of a distance education course that is offered by an approved CE school that meets the requirements set forth in Section 1450.1155.
3) Pursuant to Section 5-70 of the Act, the CE in a curriculum approved by the Advisory Council shall be satisfied by successful completion of the following:
A) Core Category. A minimum of 6 hours of CE in a curriculum approved by the Advisory Council. Standardized outlines or syllabi for these courses will be provided to CE schools and instructors by the Division.
B) Elective Category. A maximum of 6 hours of CE in CE courses approved by the Advisory Council.
4) Pursuant to Section 5-70(g) of the Act, CE credit may be earned by an approved instructor for teaching an approved CE course. Credit for teaching an approved CE course may only be earned one time per course during a pre-renewal period. One hour of teaching is equal to one hour of CE.
5) As provided for in Section 5-75 of the Act, if licensees have earned CE hours offered in another state or territory for which they will be claiming credit toward full compliance in Illinois, each applicant shall submit an application, along with a $25 processing fee, within 90 days after completion of the CE course and prior to expiration of the license. The Advisory Council shall review and recommend approval or disapproval of the CE course provided the CE school and CE course are substantially equivalent to those approved in Illinois and provided that the course included the successful completion of a proctored examination. In determining whether the CE school and CE course are substantially equivalent, the Advisory Council shall use the criteria in Sections 5-70 through 5-85 of the Act and this Section.
6) CE credit shall not be given for CE courses taken in Illinois from schools not pre-approved by the Division.
7) Except for distance education CE courses, no more than 6 hours of CE may be taken in any calendar day.
8) CE credit shall not be given for pre- and post-licensing education courses except as specifically provided for in Section 5-70(1) of the Act.
c) Certification of Compliance with CE Requirements
1) Each licensee shall certify on the renewal application full compliance with the CE requirements set forth in subsections (a) and (b).
2) The Division may require additional evidence demonstrating compliance with the CE requirements (e.g., certificate of completion, transcript, etc.). It is the responsibility of each renewal applicant to provide proof of CE completed.
3) When during an audit or compliance review, the Division determines that a licensee may be deficient in complying with CE requirements, the Division will notify the licensee, and the sponsoring broker of the licensee, by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, or other signature restricted delivery service, of the possible deficiency. The licensee shall have 60 days from the date the deficiency notification is mailed to submit to the Division evidence of compliance with CE requirements.
A) If satisfactory evidence of compliance with CE requirements set forth in subsection (c)(2) is submitted, the Division shall notify the licensee, by first class mail, that the licensee is in compliance.
B) If the licensee has certified compliance with CE requirements on the licensee's most recent renewal application pursuant to subsection (c)(1), but cannot submit evidence of having been in compliance on the date the licensee made the certification, the licensee may, during the 60 days notice period, submit evidence of having attained compliance with CE requirements after the date the certification was made. The submission of evidence of post-certification completion must be accompanied by a non-refundable administrative fee of $25 per course credit hour completed after the date the licensee originally certified compliance. The submission of evidence will not be reviewed or considered if the proper fee does not accompany the submission. Upon submission of the evidence and appropriate fee, the evidence will be reviewed. If the evidence is found to be satisfactory, the Division shall notify the licensee and the sponsoring broker of the licensee that the licensee is in compliance. Any credit hours submitted for post-certification course completion and found satisfactory may not be used as credit for the next renewal requirements.
C) If the licensee fails to submit within the 60 day notice period satisfactory evidence of compliance with CE requirements, the failure shall be evidence of a violation of Section 20-20 of the Act regarding false or fraudulent representation to obtain a license and the continuing education requirements of Article 5 of the Act. The Division shall send notice pursuant to Section 20-60 of the Act indicating the commencement of disciplinary proceedings. A copy of this notice shall be sent to the sponsoring broker of the licensee.