TITLE 41: FIRE PROTECTION
CHAPTER I: OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL
PART 141 POLICY AND PROCEDURES MANUAL FOR FIRE PROTECTION PERSONNEL
SECTION 141.336 ARSON INVESTIGATOR
Section 141.336 Arson Investigator
The Office does not recognize Arson Investigator as a rank because it is not possible to ensure that every rank used by local fire and police departments or allied field agencies to identify persons serving as Arson Investigators would be consistent throughout the State. An Arson Investigator is an individual who is a sworn employee of the Office or a local governmental agency specifically responsible for the investigation of suspected arson fire incidents.
1) Successful completion of Modules I, II and III of the Fire Investigator Course (see Section 141.334).
2) Successful completion of an Arson Investigator course approved by the Division and the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board, or provide proof of equivalent courses to be evaluated by the Executive Director of the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board.
3) Employed by a local governmental agency or the Office.
4) Application for Certification/Validation-Attestation.
b) Reimbursement may be received for training costs for an Arson Investigator (see Subpart E).
c) A qualified instructor for this level must be a certified Fire Service Instructor II and must have demonstrated experience and education in the technical areas to be taught and must be approved by the Office and the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board prior to the course offering.
d) Firearms and Physical Training. Upon successful completion of the Firearms and Physical Training portion of the Arson Investigator program, records of completion shall be forwarded to the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board for personnel of fire and police departments or allied field agencies. The Board will review the records and issue appropriate firearms training certificates.
e) The Division will issue the Arson Investigator certificate upon receipt of firearms training, physical training, and all other documents from the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board.
f) Credit for equivalent courses may be available in accordance with Section 141.120.
g) Recertification Requirements
1) Certifications expire 4 years after the issuance date.
2) Certification as an Arson Investigator.
3) Completion of refresher training following the established course objectives identified in NFPA 1033, totaling 100 points over a 4 year period, attested to by the employing Fire Chief, based on the divisional point system. Point dissemination will be determined by the applicable ad hoc committee. Records of the training will be retained in the fire department records.
4) Application for recertification, signed by the employing Fire Chief, verifying completion of training points.
5) If certification is not renewed within 90 days after the expiration date, the individuals will be required to complete an approved Fire Investigator course.
(Source: Amended at 41 Ill. Reg. 6594, effective August 1, 2017)