

October 31, 2018

Governor Bruce Rauner 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706

Dear Governor Rauner:

Pursuant to Public Act 88-593, as amended, at a meeting held on October 26, 2018, the Board of Trustees of the Judges' Retirement System (JRS) preliminarily certified a State contribution for FY 2020 of \$144,163,000, or 91.853% of projected payroll. Of the \$144,163,000, \$36,363,000 is for the employer's portion of the expected FY 2020 normal cost. The additional \$107,800,00 is due to the unfunded liabilities.

Consistent with Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement No. 67, the JRS Board of Trustees adopted a funding policy, or Actuarially Determined Contribution (ADC) policy in 2015. The ADC provides for annual contributions that are equal to the annual normal cost of benefits earned plus amortization of the unfunded actuarial liability over a 25 year period, as a level percent of payroll. The remaining amortization period is 22 years. The FY 2020 ADC is \$173,706,955, or \$29.5 million higher than the amount calculated under the statutory funding plan.

The ADC is used in financial reporting but will not affect the certified employer contributions to JRS, which is calculated and certified by the Board pursuant to the statutory funding plan.

Attached is the draft FY 2018 actuarial valuation along with the FY 2020 certification letter prepared by the System's actuaries. The actuarial valuation, membership data used in the valuation, and all calculations will be forwarded to the State Actuary for review.

Very truly yours,

Timothy B. Blain

Timothy Blair Executive Secretary

cc: Governor Bruce Rauner, Chicago Office
Susana A. Mendoza, Comptroller
Andrew Perkins, Governor's Office
Hans Zigmund, Director, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Marc Staley, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Bob Steere, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Ascha Nickell, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
John Hollman, Acting House Clerk
Brad Bolin, Assistant House Clerk.

Tim Anderson, Senate Clerk Clayton Klenke, Director, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability Dan Hankiewicz, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability Julie Bae, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability Senate President John Cullerton Senate Republican Leader Bill Brady Speaker of the House Michael Madigan Republican Leader Jim Durkin Jessica Basham, Speaker's Office Andrew Freiheit, House Republican Staff Kristin Richards, Senate President's Office Phil Draves, Senate Republican Staff Becky Locker, Senate President's Office Ozie Goodwin, Senate President's Office Noe Chaimongkol, Senate President's Office Mark Jarmer, House Democratic Staff Mike Mahoney, House Republican Staff Joe Sculley, House Republican Staff Erik Dillman, Senate Republican Staff Nick McNeely, Senate Republican Staff Rich Rockwood, Senate Republican Staff Joe Miller, House Democratic Staff